Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
  • My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • NFL
  • Tennis

Why Matt Kuchar won't repeat at the Players Championship

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Matt Kuchar will try to defend at the Players Championship. (Getty Images)
Matt Kuchar will try to defend at the Players Championship. (Getty Images)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Matt Kuchar will be fighting a lot of history as he tries to repeat at the 2013 Players Championship. Like, 40 years worth of history.

The Players Championship started in 1974, and Jack Nicklaus won every other year for the first five tournaments. Since then only four people have won it more than once -- Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Hal Sutton and Davis Love III. And nobody has repeated.

Recent history has not been kind to defending champions, either. Let's look at how the last 10 have fared in their title defenses:

K.J. Choi (2012) -- Missed cut
Tim Clark (2011) -- W/D
Henrik Stenson (2010) -- Missed cut
Sergio Garcia (2009) -- T22
Phil Mickelson (2008) -- T21
Stephen Ames (2007) -- Missed cut
Fred Funk (2006) -- T16
Adam Scott (2005) -- T8
Davis Love III (2004) -- T33
Craig Perks (2003) -- T17

As you can see, three of the last six golfers to win at Sawgrass have missed the cut the year after. Kuchar has played really well this year, but he's fighting an uphill battle here.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

September 18, 2014
Kenny Perry on the Doug Gottlieb Show (4:41)
1 August 25, 2014
Tiger Woods fires his coach
2 August 24, 2014
The Barclays recap
3 August 24, 2014
Jim Nantz does the ice bucket challenge


Most Popular Shop

Mens Baltimore Orioles Majestic Charcoal 2014 AL East Division Champions Locker Room T-Shirt

MLB Division Champs Gear
Get your team today
Shop Now