• My Scores
  • NFL
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf

Muirfield history stocked with legendary winners

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Ernie Els is one of the many legends to win at Muirfield. (USATSI)
Ernie Els is one of the many legends to win at Muirfield. (USATSI)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Golf's majors obviously lend themselves to the stars of the game winning their events. But you also get the occasional Todd Hamilton or Michael Campbell -- no-name golfers who don't do much before or after.

Muirfield, site of the 2013 British Open, is different, though. You'd better be a historically great golfer if you're thinking about winning here.

Here's a look at the list of winners at Muirfield with total majors in parentheses:

2002 -- Ernie Els (4)
1992 -- Nick Faldo (6)
1987 -- Nick Faldo (6)
1980 -- Tom Watson (8)
1972 -- Lee Trevino (6)
1966 -- Jack Nicklaus (18)
1959 -- Gary Player (9)
1948 -- Henry Cotton (3)
1935 -- Alf Perry (1)
1929 -- Walter Hagen (11)
1912 -- Ted Ray (2)
1906 -- James Braid (5)
1901 -- James Braid (5)
1896 -- Harry Vardon (7)
1892 -- Harold Hilton (7)

That's 87 total majors by your 13 British Open winners at Muirfield.

Only Alf Perry has fewer than two majors, and only he, Ted Ray and Henry Cotton have fewer than four. Perry actually finished T3 at the 1939 Open, the last before it was cancelled for the war.

The lesson for this year, as it is for most British Opens, is you'd better know what you're doing or you're going to be out of the hunt in a hurry.

Since World War II, basically only legends have won Muirfield.

I can't wait to see who's next.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

October 7, 2015
Previewing the Presidents Cup (2:49)
October 2, 2015
Looking back at 2015 and ahead to 2016
October 2, 2015
Jordan Spieth wins PGA Tour Player of the Year Award
October 2, 2015
Jordan Spieth has been named the PGA Tour Player of the Year


Most Popular

CBSSports Shop

Men's Nike Scarlet Ohio State Buckeyes No. 15 Limited Football Jersey

College Sideline Gear
Get your favorite school
Shop Now