• My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf

Tiger Woods shoots 72 after someone reports penalty

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Can Tiger get to 20 majors? (USATSI)
Tiger Woods thought he shot a 70 on Friday. (USATSI)

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Expert Picks | Equipment | FedEx Cup

Welp, we're back here again.

Tiger Woods shot what he thought was a 1-under 70 on Friday at the BMW Championship but was alerted that he actually shot a 1-over 72 after a two-stroke penalty that was brought to officials' attention two holes after his first hole of the day.

Here's a look at the details:

After further review Slugger White (a rules official, and what a name!) said a freelance videographer had videoed Woods behind the first green moving a loose impediment which caused the ball to move.

Rules officials reviewed the tape and determined the ball did, in fact, move.

"He thought it just oscillated and that's why he didn't do anything else. We showed him the video. The video did in fact show the ball moved. "

White said Woods didn't put up any argument but noted that he wasn't real thrilled either.

"[He was] very frustrated."

Woods actually played pretty well after his first hole, shooting 3 under on the other 17. Here's a look at his scorecard which has that ugly-looking snowman on the first:

The silver lining in all of this? Because of the penalty it looks like Woods will be paired with, you guessed it, Sergio Garcia on Saturday.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

August 1, 2014
Dustin Johnson takes leave of abscence (1:54)
1 July 31, 2014
Can Tiger win Bridgestone?
2 July 27, 2014
RBC Canadian Open recap
3 July 27, 2014
Clark on victory at RBC Canadian Open


Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop