VIDEO: Did Sergio Garcia illegally tap a spike mark?

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Equipment | FedEx Cup | Masters 2014

Seventeen days into the new year and we already have Segio Garcia controversy!

Garcia is playing the Abu Dhabi Championship this week and this video arose after a first round in which he was 4 over and called the rough "dangerous."

Watch the video above -- it sort of looks like Sergio Garcia taps down a spike mark with his putter in the top left of the screen, doesn't it?

He was questioned about it on the 18th green on Thursday by a rules official and cleared of any wrongdoing because he said it was actually a "pitch mark" he was tapping down.

As Sky Sports pointed out, Garcia would have been disqualified if it had been deemed a spike mark because that would have been a two-stroke penalty and he would have been in violation of signing an incorrect scorecard.

The European Tour released this statement:

"[European Tour chief referee] John Paramor is satisfied with Sergio's version of the matter and that is the end of the issue."

You'll remember that Simon Dyson was almost expelled from the European Tour over a similar incident.

Garcia was 4 under on Friday and barely sneaked inside the cut line.

h/t Jamie Kennedy

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

May 5, 2015
2015 Midseason Golf Awards (2:12)
May 5, 2015
Is Tiger Woods underrated?
(1:24)
May 3, 2015
Rory McIlroy wins Match Play Championship
(1:40)
May 3, 2015
Tiger Woods and Lindsey Vonn break up
(1:12)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's New Era Red Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2015 NFL Draft On-Stage 59FIFTY Fitted Hat

2015 NFL Draft Day Hats
Get your team today
Shop Now