• My Scores
  • MLB
  • Golf
  • World Cup

Matt Kuchar won his match twice (kind of)

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

More Golf: Leaderboard | Rankings | Schedule | Equipment | FedEx Cup | Masters 2014

We all thought Matt Kuchar had won his first-round match against Bernd Weisberger 5 and 4 on Wednesday afternoon.

That's because he had.

But then he hadn't.

Yeah, it was bizarre. Kuchar did win his match 5 and 4 with a birdie at the 14th hole but shortly after that he called a rules infraction on himself for a misplaced ball.

He had moved his marker out of the way of Weisberger and forgot to move it back (as you can see in the video above).

So he conceded the hole to Weisberger and they played on. At least it wasn't dialed in from somebody watching at home!

It got a little hairy near the end but the two parred each of the the next two holes and Kuchar won (for the second time) 3 and 2.

The win pushes Kuchar's career record at the Match Play Championship to 16-3, including his win in 2013.

Kuchar will face Ryan Moore in the second round.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

 
CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

July 9, 2014
Did Tiger Woods use PEDs? (2:01)
1 July 6, 2014
Greenbrier Classic recap
(2:22)
2 July 6, 2014
Cabrera on victory at the Greenbrier Classic
(1:01)
3 July 5, 2014
Hurley on play at the Greenbrier Classic
(1:41)

Latest

Most Popular