• My Scores
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf
  • NCAA BB

Masters 2014: Luke Donald penalty called by patron at Augusta

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Luke Donald shot a 79 on Thursday. (Getty Images)
Luke Donald shot a 79 on Thursday. (Getty Images)

More Masters: WATCH LIVE | Leaderboard | Field | TV Schedule | Course Guide

Hell of a headline there, maybe the headline of the week.

Luke Donald walked off the 18th green on Thursday evening thinking he had carded a pretty bad 77 in the first round of the 2014 Masters.

That 77 became an even-worse 79 when he was approached by Masters rules officials before signing his scorecard and assessed a two-stroke penalty.

The penalty had to do with Donald's bunker shot on the 9th hole, a hole Donald had double bogeyed. Donald had apparently grounded his club in the sand after failing to get out on his first attempt.

According to this post by Jay Busbee of Yahoo, the infraction was noticed by someone in the gallery.

"A spokesman for Augusta National, where the Masters is played, told Yahoo Sports that the penalty was reported by a patron to an official on the course."

Donald wasn't pleased with the penalty but took responsibility via Twitter:

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

March 27, 2015
Weekend sports preview: 3/27 (1:59)
March 25, 2015
Texas Open preview
(2:51)
March 25, 2015
Masters field too crowded?
(2:24)
March 24, 2015
Tiger in the Masters?
(0:30)

Latest

Most Popular

2015 Masters
Masters