Masters 2014: Luke Donald penalty called by patron at Augusta

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Luke Donald shot a 79 on Thursday. (Getty Images)
Luke Donald shot a 79 on Thursday. (Getty Images)

More Masters: WATCH LIVE | Leaderboard | Field | TV Schedule | Course Guide

Hell of a headline there, maybe the headline of the week.

Luke Donald walked off the 18th green on Thursday evening thinking he had carded a pretty bad 77 in the first round of the 2014 Masters.

That 77 became an even-worse 79 when he was approached by Masters rules officials before signing his scorecard and assessed a two-stroke penalty.

The penalty had to do with Donald's bunker shot on the 9th hole, a hole Donald had double bogeyed. Donald had apparently grounded his club in the sand after failing to get out on his first attempt.

According to this post by Jay Busbee of Yahoo, the infraction was noticed by someone in the gallery.

"A spokesman for Augusta National, where the Masters is played, told Yahoo Sports that the penalty was reported by a patron to an official on the course."

Donald wasn't pleased with the penalty but took responsibility via Twitter:

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

May 3, 2015
Rory McIlroy wins Match Play Championship (1:40)
May 3, 2015
Tiger Woods and Lindsey Vonn break up
(1:12)
April 29, 2015
Tiger Woods announces 2015 summer schedule
(1:44)
April 29, 2015
Who will win more majors?
(1:07)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop

Men's New Era Red Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2015 NFL Draft On-Stage 59FIFTY Fitted Hat

2015 NFL Draft Day Hats
Get your team today
Shop Now