• My Scores
  • NHL
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • NCAA BB
  • Golf

Seung-Yul Noh hits shot off putting green, gets penalized

By Kyle Porter | Golf Writer

Well this might just be the strangest thing I've seen all season.

Seung-Yul Noh hit his tee shot so poorly on the 11th hole that it ended up on a different green which, as you can see in the video, is exactly where he played it from.

That would be a two-stroke penalty according to PGA Tour rules official Slugger White.

"I've been out here 33 years," said White. "We have never seen this happen."

According to Rule 25-3 here's why this was illegal:

"If a player's ball lies on a wrong putting green, he has to take relief and must drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green."

Noh definitely did not even apptempt to do that.

For more golf news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnGolf and @KylePorterCBS on Twitter or Google+ and like us on Facebook.

CBSSports Facebook Google Plus
COMMENTS
Conversation powered by Livefyre

golf Video

January 28, 2015
Waste Management Open preview (2:00)
January 22, 2015
Latest on the Robert Allenby situation
(2:54)
January 9, 2015
Tiger Woods to play 2015 Phoenix Open
(1:58)
August 20, 2014
Phil Mickelson provides tips to President Obama
(1:00)

Latest

Most Popular

CBSSports.com Shop