Matt Kuchar won his match twice (kind of)
A rules infraction meant Kuchar had to win his Wednesday match against Bernd Weisberger twice.
We all thought Matt Kuchar had won his first-round match against Bernd Weisberger 5 and 4 on Wednesday afternoon.
That's because he had.
But then he hadn't.
Yeah, it was bizarre. Kuchar did win his match 5 and 4 with a birdie at the 14th hole but shortly after that he called a rules infraction on himself for a misplaced ball.
He had moved his marker out of the way of Weisberger and forgot to move it back (as you can see in the video above).
So he conceded the hole to Weisberger and they played on. At least it wasn't dialed in from somebody watching at home!
It got a little hairy near the end but the two parred each of the the next two holes and Kuchar won (for the second time) 3 and 2.
The win pushes Kuchar's career record at the Match Play Championship to 16-3, including his win in 2013.
Kuchar will face Ryan Moore in the second round.
Our Latest Stories
Watson did not get a captain's pick, but he will still be at Hazeltine this week
Everything you need to know about what is going to happen during the week of the 2016 Ryder...
The King is the first of golf's Big Three to pass away
POTUS shared a poignant and touching statement about Palmer, who died Sunday
From that first event to his death at age 87, it truly was good to be The King
Rickie Fowler, Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy and others respond to the news that Palmer has...