Seung-Yul Noh hits shot off putting green, gets penalized
This bizarre happenstance at The Barclays was a first for a lot of folks including one PGA Tour rules official.
Well this might just be the strangest thing I've seen all season.
Seung-Yul Noh hit his tee shot so poorly on the 11th hole that it ended up on a different green which, as you can see in the video, is exactly where he played it from.
That would be a two-stroke penalty according to PGA Tour rules official Slugger White.
"I've been out here 33 years," said White. "We have never seen this happen."
According to Rule 25-3 here's why this was illegal:
"If a player's ball lies on a wrong putting green, he has to take relief and must drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green."
Noh definitely did not even apptempt to do that.
Our Latest Stories
Big Cat tells his favorite stories about Arnie and discusses what their friendship meant to...
A look at the 2016 Ryder Cup and what some of the terms you'll hear this week actually mea...
Both teams have been completed, and the Americans remain a the team to beat, per the oddsm...
Recent U.S. history has not been favorable at these matches but that should change this time...
Watson did not get a captain's pick, but he will still be at Hazeltine this week
Everything you need to know about what is going to happen during the week of the 2016 Ryder...