• My Scores
  • NFL Draft
  • MLB
  • NBA
  • NHL
  • Golf
  • Tennis

Preview: Madeira Islands Open - Portugal - BPI


Dougherty: Not afraid of failing after losing card

SANTO DA SERRA, Madeira Islands (AP) Ryder Cup golfer Nick Dougherty returns from a six-week absence from competition looking forward to the birth of his first child and playing without a fear of failure.

Dougherty is among four former Ryder Cup players and six former champions competing Thursday in the Madeira Islands Open.

It is only Dougherty's third event this season after competing in two Challenge Tour events, capped by a tie for fourth in the Colombia Classic in March. He's lost all playing rights on the European Tour, where he's won three times, so he's concentrating on the Challenge Tour.

``It's been a long time since I can say I am looking forward to my golf as I just punished myself so hard trying to hold onto my main European Tour card,'' he said after Wednesday's pro-am. ``I just didn't want to go out and play but I had to. Then when I did, I played absolutely horrible. Now if I don't play well, then it's not going to get me down.''

He won't compete in the BMW PGA Championship on May 24, his 30th birthday. It's a tournament he's played every year since 2002.

``I am looking to build back my confidence, and if I manage to win back my European Tour card, then well and good,'' he said. ``If not, I will stick out here on the Challenge Tour. There's just not the intensity or the hype around the main tour.''

Dougherty married former TV presenter Di Stewart in 2010 at St. Andrews and the couple expects their first child, a boy, in August.

``I can't wait to become a father and Di and I are so much looking forward to the birth,'' he said. ``She's here with me this week and that's great.''

Others in the field include former Ryder Cup players Phil Price, Niclas Fasth, Oliver Wilson and Jarmo Sandelin.

The former Madeira Islands winners who will tee up are Spain's Santiago Luna (1995), Sandelin (1996), Fasth (2000), Welshman Bradley Dredge (2003), Argentina's Daniel Vancsik (2007) and Scotland's Alastair Forsyth (2008).

Copyright 2016 by STATS LLC. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

CBSSports Shop

Men's adidas Purple 2015 PGA Championship Performance Golf Polo

2016 PGA Championship Apparel
Get yours today
Shop Now

Madeira Islands field
Warren AberyAntti AhokasBjorn Akesson
Byeong-Hun AnPhillip ArcherHans Peter Bacher
Matthew BaldwinBenn BarhamSion E. Bebb
Seve BensonAdrien BernadetWil Besseling
Richard BlandKnut BorsheimAndre Bossert
Michiel BothmaChristophe BrazillierMarkus Brier
Daniel BrooksSebastian BuhlJoao Carlota
Magnus A. CarlssonBaptiste ChapellanRobert Coles
Federico ColomboElidio CostaMarco Crespi
Tiago CruzStuart DavisCarlos Del Moral
Matteo Del PodioFrancois DelamontagneDaniel Denison
Robert DinwiddieDavid DixonChris Doak
Stephen DoddAgustin DomingoNick Dougherty
Bradley DredgeScott DrummondEdouard Dubois
Paul DwyerRafa EcheniquePelle Edberg
Jamie ElsonKlas ErikssonMartin Erlandsson
Borja EtchartNiclas FasthTyrone Ferreira
Thomas FeyrsingerDarren FichardtTommy Fleetwood
Charlie FordDara FordMatt Ford
Alastair ForsythChris GaneJordi Garcia
Daniel GauntAdam GeeJordan Gibb
Emiliano GrilloJulien GuerrierPeter Gustafsson
Alex HaindlAnders Schmidt HansenJoachim B. Hansen
Andreas HartoeTyrrell HattonJames Heath
Benjamin HebertFredrik HengeNuno Henriques
Garry HoustonSam HutsbyLasse Jensen
Steven JeppesenAndrew JohnstonRoope Kakko
Shiv KapurLloyd KennedyMaximilian Kieffer
Sihwan KimEspen KofstadMaarten Lafeber
Joakim LagergrenCraig LeeJose-Filipe Lima
Sam LittleChris LloydMichael Lorenzo-Vera
Jean-Francois LucquinSantiago LunaMikael Lundberg
Callum MacaulayMorten MadsenAndrew Marshall
Andrew McArthurFrancis McGuirkJamie McLeary
Nicolas MeitingerColm MoriartyJamie Moul
Ake NilssonMatthew NixonThomas Norret
Steven O'HaraPedro OriolGary Orr
Adrian OtaeguiChris PaisleyBen Parker
Andrew ParrJohn ParryAndrea Perrino
Scott PinckneyGoncalo PintoFlorian Praegant
Phillip PriceRaul QuirosPierre Relecom
Taco RemkesBernd RitthammerVictor Riu
Edgar RodriguesAntonio RosadoRaymond Russell
Charles-Edouard RussoLloyd SaltmanJarmo Sandelin
Hugo SantosRicardo SantosReinier Saxton
Tim SluiterAnthony SnobeckAntonio Sobrinho
Matthew SouthgateRoland SteinerScott Strange
Andy SullivanCarl SunesonAlessandro Tadini
Andrew TampionSimon ThorntonSteven Tiley
Mark TulloDaniel VancsikAlvaro Velasco
Johan WahlqvistSimon WakefieldSam Walker
Justin WaltersOlly WhiteleyOliver Wilson