Blog Entry

"Screw Football" College Basketball Realignment

Posted on: February 19, 2011 8:59 pm
Hello, college basketball fans!

It seems like most of the changes in conference realignment have been decided primarily due to some other sport (one that can't spell the word playoff). The results of recent realignments have led to larger conferences (17 in the Big East, 14 in the A-10) and geographically spread out conferences (the Big East will stretch from Connecticut to Texas). Some of these moves have have put awful basketball teams into major conferences and diluted the product of these conferences.

So, I decided to make my own realignment. My main goals are to create more geographically friendly conferences which are more competitively balanced from a college basketball standpoint (upgrade teams that belong in stronger conferences and kick out the dead weight teams getting a free ride due to football or other reasons).

Here are my conferences:

ACC: Clemson, Duke, Florida, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, Louisville, Maryland, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Wake Forest

Big East: Boston College, Connecticut, Georgetown, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s, Syracuse, Temple, Villanova, West Virginia

Big 10: Butler, Cincinnati, Illinois, Indiana, Marquette, Michigan, Michigan State, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Purdue, Wisconsin, Xavier

Big 12: Arkansas, Baylor, Kansas, Kansas State, LSU, Missouri, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Tulsa

SEC: Alabama, Auburn, Georgia, Memphis, Miami, Mississippi, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee, UAB, Vanderbilt, Virginia Tech

Mountain West: Air Force, Boise State, BYU, Colorado State, Fresno State, Gonzaga, Nevada, New Mexico, San Diego State, UNLV, Utah State, Wyoming

Great Midwest (New Conference): Creighton, DePaul, Iowa, Iowa State, Minnesota, Missouri State, Nebraska, Northern Iowa, Northwestern, Southern Illinois, St. Louis, Western Kentucky

Atlantic 10: Charlotte, Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, George Washington, LaSalle, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Richmond, Rutgers, St. Bonaventure, St. Joseph’s

Conference USA: Central Florida, East Carolina, Houston, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Rice, SMU, South Florida, Southern Mississippi, TCU, Texas El Paso, Tulane

Missouri Valley: Bradley, Drake, Eastern Illinois, Evansville, Illinois State, IUPU-Fort Wayne, IUPU-Indianapolis, Indiana State, Murray State, Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, Western Illinois, Wichita State

Horizon: Cleveland State, Detroit, Eastern Illinois, Green Bay, Illinois Chicago, Loyola (IL), Milwaukee Oakland, Wright State, Youngstown State

Sun Belt: Arkansas-Little Rock, Arkansas State, Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Louisiana Lafayette, Louisiana Monroe, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, South Alabama, Texas-San Antonio, Texas State, Troy

Big West: Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, Hawaii, Long Beach State, Pacific, Sacramento State, San Jose State,  UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara

Big Sky: Eastern Washington, Idaho, Idaho State, Montana, Montana State, New Mexico State, North Dakota,  Northern Arizona, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Southern Utah, Weber State

WCC: Denver, Loyola Marymount, Pepperdine, Portland, San Diego, San Francisco, Santa Clara, Seattle, St. Mary’s

Ohio Valley:  Austin Peay, Eastern Kentucky, Jacksonville State, Morehead State, Southeast Missouri State, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, Tennessee Martin

Summit/Great West (Merge): Chicago State, Houston Baptist, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Missouri-Kansas City, North Dakota State, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State, Texas-Pan American, Utah Valley

No changes: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big South, Colonial, Ivy, MAAC, MAC, MEAC, Northeast, Pac-12, Patriot, Southern, Southland (UT-San Antonio and Texas State are leaving), SWAC


Category: NCAAB
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or