Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now
Blog Entry

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

Posted on: January 17, 2012 6:24 pm
 
In the Packers-Giants game on Sunday, Greg Jennings fumbled and the Giants recovered. However, the call was overturned on the field and Jennings was ruled down by contact. Tom Coughlin challenged the play. After review, Bill Leavy stated that the call stood as called. This means that Bill Leavy did not think there was indisputable evidence that is needed to overturn the call. Saying that the call stood also indicates that Leavy believed that there was not conclusive evidence that showed that the call on the field was correct either. Now, everyone thinks that Leavy got ths call wrong. Very wrong. Everyone thinks that it wasn't even close. Except for me. I think Leavy got the call right.

Let's examine the play. As Jennings is going to the ground, Corey Webster pulls at the ball. This causes Jennings arm, with the ball in his hand, to move upwards and away from his body. Now I know what you're thinking: that is clear evidence that Jennings lost the ball. Wrong. The ball is still in Jennings hand at the time. Watch the replay. There is no visible separation between the ball and Jennings hand and the ball is not moving independently of his hand. It has been shown countless times in the NFL that a player can control the ball with only one hand. In my opinion, there is no proof in the replays that I have seen that Jennings is not controlling the ball in his right hand.

In conclusion, I agree with Bill Leavy here. The call should have stood. There is not indisputable evidence that Jennings was no longer possessing the ball before he hit the ground.
Comments

Since: Jan 9, 2007
Posted on: January 19, 2012 2:38 pm
 

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

How can you say it was clearly loose? There is no separation between the ball and his right hand. How can you definitively say he is not possessing the ball? The ball is clearly away from his body but that does not mean it is clearly loose. Players possess the ball in one hand all the time. Plus, look at how Jennings is carrying the ball. His fingers are wrapped around the top of the ball. Even though the ball gets pulled away from his body it is very plausible that he is still holding on to the ball.



Since: Jun 15, 2009
Posted on: January 19, 2012 7:32 am
 

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

Let's walk through the whole play shall we. The ruling on the field was a fumble and EVERY official allowed the play to go forward. Then BILL Leavy - the man most out of position to see the play decides to OVERRULE all the other officials and declares him down. I would love to hear his explaination as to why he was so sure he was down but never blew the whistle. Once he completely changed the play then we need to go to the replay. I have no idea what you were looking at. The ball is clearly loose when the runners knee is still a foot off the ground. The discussion this week is that MAYBE it was thought that his shin was on the ground prior to the ball coming loose. Anyone with simple knowledge of the human body knows the only way it is impossible for the knee to be 1 foot in the air and for the shin to be on the ground is for the leg to be snapped in 2. Since the player got up and ran off the field I feel it is safe to assume that was not the case. There is OVERWHELMING evidence that the play was botched and continued efforts by the NFL to say is was appropriate iis ridiculous.



Since: Jan 9, 2007
Posted on: January 18, 2012 2:34 pm
 

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

All you need to do is click on my profile name to see that I'm not. I just watched the game and happen to disagree. I was hoping to actually get an intelligent discussion going by posting my opinion, but that seems like it might not be possible.



Since: Jan 20, 2007
Posted on: January 18, 2012 6:39 am
 

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

yea ok you must be a packers fan 



Since: Jan 17, 2012
Posted on: January 17, 2012 7:34 pm
 

Bill Leavy got the call right, and here's why...

Well that means that you are just as blind as Levy and we don't care about your opinion...two people thought the call was upheld, you & Levy !!!!


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com