Blog Entry

Johnson the preseason favorite of NASCAR media

Posted on: February 16, 2012 10:05 am
Posted by Brian De Los Santos

On Wednesday, Pete Pistone and I unleashed our 2012 NASCAR season predictions on the world.

Today, NASCAR released a poll it had been taking among NASCAR media members. Jimmie Johnson came out on top, just ahead of Carl Edwards.

In our picks, both Pistone and I felt Johnson would be in the thick of the title hunt yet again, with Pistone picking him to win it all, while I placed him second. We disagreed a bit about Edwards. I'm  pegging Edwards as my preseason favorite, while Pistone think it may take him a year to recover from last season's disappointment.

Here's the complete NASCAR press release:

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 16, 2012) – Undoubtedly, Jimmie Johnson would like to forget that the 2011 season ever happened. Apparently, voters in’s annual preseason poll already have.

Members of picked Johnson to reign supreme once again – despite a career-low sixth-place finish in the 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series points.

Johnson received 147 votes in the annual preseason poll, just two more than Carl Edwards, who finished second in last season’s championship points. Rounding out the top 12: defending champion Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch Brad Keselowski, Kasey Kahne, Denny Hamlin, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth and Greg Biffle.

Voting among the top four was especially close, as Johnson and Hendrick Motorsports teammate Gordon were separated by only seven votes. Stewart trailed Johnson by three votes.

“To be honest I'm stoked they did,” Johnson said. “They know racing and know how much last year will motivate us. Now, we need to go out and do our best to make them all look good.”

Media members were also tasked with predicting the final top 10 for the NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

NASCAR reporters feel déjà vu in NASCAR’s No. 2 series, picking Ricky Stenhouse Jr. to become the first NASCAR Nationwide repeat champion since Martin Truex Jr. accomplished the rare feat in 2004-05.

Stenhouse, who tallied 74 votes, nabbed two more than Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender Austin Dillon and last season’s runner up Elliott Sadler. Filling out the top 10: Justin Allgaier, Sam Hornish Jr., Danica Patrick, Kenny Wallace, Cole Whitt, Trevor Bayne and Michael Annett.

Johnny Sauter came a scant six points short of winning last season’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship. Instead, Austin Dillon wore the 2011 crown. Dillon’s gone now, moving to the NASCAR Nationwide Series, and prognosticators believe Sauter will take advantage of his absence.

In the closest vote among the three series, Sauter’s 62 votes barely edged Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate Ty Dillon (Austin’s little brother) for the top spot. The younger Dillon tallied 61 votes from the media.

Rounding out the top 10: Ron Hornaday Jr., Matt Crafton, James Buescheer, Timothy Peters, Parker Kligerman, Joey Coulter, Nelson Piquet Jr., Jason Leffler, Justin Lofton and David Starr.

More NASCAR coverage

Category: Auto Racing

Since: Dec 12, 2010
Posted on: February 17, 2012 7:47 am

Johnson the preseason favorite of NASCAR media

If you ask me i think johnson will make the run but he has a lot of competion. I think his days of killin the field are over!!! just sayin. 

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or