Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now
Blog Entry

Hank Aaron Award nominees released

Posted on: October 3, 2011 6:43 pm
Edited on: October 4, 2011 12:54 am
By Matt Snyder

Since 1999, Major League Baseball has honored the top offensive performer in each league with the Hank Aaron Award, named after someone you may have heard of (see him right there, at the right?). Hammerin' Hank Aaron hit .305 with 755 home runs and a .928 OPS in his 23-year career, so yeah, he knows a little something about good offense.

The winner of each league will be decided by fan vote -- click here to cast your ballot -- along with the votes of several Hall of Fame players, including Aaron himself.

"It is a real privilege to have my name on the award that recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each league," Aaron said in a MLB press release. "With so many talented players in the game today, I am thankful to have the assistance of my fellow Hall of Famers and the fans to select the winners."

Each team gets exactly one nominee, and here are the nominees for the AL:

Baltimore: J.J. Hardy
Boston: Adrian Gonzalez
Chicago: Paul Konerko
Cleveland: Asdrubal Cabrera
Detroit: Miguel Cabrera
Kansas City: Alex Gordon
Los Angeles: Mark Trumbo
Minnesota: Michael Cuddyer
New York: Curtis Granderson
Oakland: Josh Willingham
Seattle: Dustin Ackley
Tampa Bay: Evan Longoria
Texas: Michael Young
Toronto: Jose Bautista

The 2010 winner was Bautista, so he's looking to be the first player to win in consecutive seasons since Alex Rodriguez did in 2002 and 2003. Keep in mind this isn't a comprehensive list of the best hitters in the league, because there is only one representative chosen per team. Thus, Jacoby Ellsbury, for example, was left off -- shouldn't he be there instead of Gonzalez, by the way? -- while several lesser players are on the ballot.

Here are the nominees for the NL award:

Arizona: Justin Upton
Atlanta: Brian McCann
Chicago: Aramis Ramirez
Cincinnati: Joey Votto
Colorado: Troy Tulowitzki
Florida: Mike Stanton
Houston: Carlos Lee
Los Angeles: Matt Kemp
Milwaukee: Ryan Braun
New York: Jose Reyes
Philadelphia: Ryan Howard
Pittsburgh: Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis: Albert Pujols
San Diego: Cameron Maybin
San Francisco: Pablo Sandoval
Washington: Michael Morse

Votto won in 2010, so he is also vying for his second straight. The last time a National League hitter won the Hank Aaron Award two straight years was Barry Bonds in 2001 and 2002. And, again, keep in mind the one-person-per-team thing. Prince Fielder got squeezed out by playing alongside Braun, for example.

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnBaseball on Twitter or subscribe to the RSS feed.
Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 20, 2011 8:36 am
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator

Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 18, 2011 1:01 am
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator

Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 7, 2011 3:40 pm

Hank Aaron Award nominees released

Very well! I praise you! My spouse and i ordinarily instructed to article on my little online site a little similar to this. Does one put on a share of the article that will the best blog?

Since: Nov 23, 2008
Posted on: October 3, 2011 10:15 pm

Hank Aaron Award nominees released


Since: Oct 25, 2007
Posted on: October 3, 2011 8:04 pm

Hank Aaron Award nominees released

Who picks the nominees, Bud Selig?

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or