Blog Entry

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Posted on: September 26, 2010 6:07 pm
  •  
 
Posted by Josh Katzowitz

In case you were confused why the officials in the Buffalo-New England game allowed the Bills to take back-to-back timeouts at the end of the first half, referee John Parry said his crew made a mistake and that the second timeout should not have been granted.

ESPN.com’s Mike Reiss served as pool reporter and interviewed Parry after the Patriots 38-30 win.

Here’s the transcript:

Q: I was asked as the pool reporter to ask you a question as it relates to the back-to-back timeout calls by the Bills. What was the ruling on why the Bills weren’t penalized for calling their second timeout?

JP: There is no foul for calling a second timeout in the rulebook. We shouldn’t have granted it. … But, there is no penalty. There is no 5-yard penalty for what we did. [The procedure is to] get the players reset, the second time out is not allowed, resume play, which is what we did.

Q: I think you answered the question, but just so I’m clear, can you review the procedure as to how it all went down?

JP: It was actually an interesting play when you think of all of the things that led up to it. On third down we had a run play where we ruled a first down, so we have a running clock. Buffalo called their first timeout to stop the clock. Replay now gets involved because they want to review the spot to determine if it is a first down or [is] not a first down. Through replay, we ended up moving the ball back about a half-a-yard, to the 16-and-a-half [yard line], which now makes a fourth down, but because we didn’t change it to a stopped-clock scenario, Buffalo is still charged with the timeout that they called. They come up to the line of scrimmage and the play clock is moving down from 25. I don’t know exactly where it was, but it was close to zero, probably one, two or three seconds, I suppose. I think a wide receiver turned to the wing official and asked for a timeout, which should not have been granted. What we do mechanically if that does happen, which it obviously did, we bring the players out, we reset play and we go.

Q: Do I have it right that the timeout shouldn’t have been granted?

JP: Correct.

Q: So if it had not been granted, the play clock would have just wound down?

JP: He could have potentially taken a delay of game, that’s correct. I don’t know that he would have taken it, but I think he could.


For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsnfl on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS Feed .

  •  
Comments

Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: January 31, 2012 3:37 pm
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

The thing that figure out very difficult might well be to find a web publication that may take hold of my routine for that direct nonetheless area alters. Well done.



Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 14, 2011 5:18 pm
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Points discover serious is to discover a blogs gain i with regards to your tracfone minute and your net is dissimilar. Bravo.



Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 4, 2011 3:07 am
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

We got ended up endeavor a study and additionally found this is what website. We all accept that your textual content is without question with regards to stage! Keeping it to the peak. We're sticking inside of your page subject matter



Since: Aug 16, 2006
Posted on: September 27, 2010 12:16 pm
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Not particularly sure what game you were watching, nate, but I didn't see any of that.  In fact, I haven't seen any illegal formations by the Pats that weren't called by the officials.  I'm not a fan of the Pats, but I live in Mass and it's all I get.

As far as the officials go, good to see them admit they were wrong.  I guess Bill-o yelling at the official on the sideline made them take a closer look at their non call.



Since: Sep 23, 2009
Posted on: September 27, 2010 11:45 am
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Yeah but they let the Pats get away with numerous illegal formations on offense. The tackles helmets are supposed to be no further back than the centers butt but the Pats line up on third downs with there tackles three yards in the backfield to protect pretty boy brady.



Since: Sep 26, 2006
Posted on: September 27, 2010 10:04 am
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Official: "We shouldn’t have granted it.…should not have been granted."
Reiss: "Do I have it right that the timeout shouldn’t have been granted?"

What a snotty reporter.  If the official was free to speak his mind without fear of being crucified by the press, he should have added to his "Correct," final reply, "...and you also have it right if you consider yourself a jerk."



Since: Apr 11, 2007
Posted on: September 27, 2010 7:37 am
 

Ref admits mistake in BUF-NE game

Nice that the refs can admit their mistakes; they're only human after all.
But this same admission could have been made two weeks ago, when Miami tried to call two consecutive timeouts against Buffalo.  They too were not penalized, even though the crowd loudly protested.  So then Miami was trying to set up quickly as the clock was running down.  Next the ref stops the play clock again, to "clarify", that there is no penalty.  During this, Miami now had plenty of time to set.

It's a good thing the Dolphins weren't allowed to take a second consecutive time-out.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com