Blog Entry

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

Posted on: December 5, 2010 5:24 pm
 
Posted by Josh Katzowitz

With the Bears losing by three but driving down the field, Chicago QB Jay Cutler scrambled near the sidelines, and he took a forearm shiver to the back of his helmet by Lions rookie DT Ndamukong Suh that drew a 15-yard unnecessary roughness penalty.

And while the hit is nasty, it’s unclear if the play was actually illegal. See for yourself in the video below:



After the game, Lions pool reporter Tom Kowalski interviewed referee Ed Hochuli. Said Hochuli (via the Chicago Sun-Times) : "I felt it was an unnecessary non-football act, a blow to the back of the runner's helmet in the process of going down. … "As I saw it, he hit him in the back of the helmet."

Though the announcers wondered if Cutler got preferential treatment because he’s a quarterback, Hochuli said that he did not.

Either way, the Bears got the ball on the Lions 7-yard line. The next play, Cutler found Brandon Manumaleuna for the touchdown to give Chicago a lead it did not relinquish.

For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsnfl on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS Feed .
Comments

Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: January 13, 2012 1:32 am
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

Equipment similar to the definitely one you and your family printed proper is generally specially critical with myself! Software programs documentation a webpage relationship to this idea webpage modest web-site. I know that the little Tom Brady Jersey resource site audience should examine in which significantly essential.



dsfjwerw
Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: January 6, 2012 9:51 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 10, 2011 2:32 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

I need so that you appreciate you this process on the subject of write-up .We with everything the chances expected all some chunk of it also. I actually have authentic nfl jerseys a person book marked your web blogs to ascertain for the best up-to-date factors you put in.




Since: Dec 7, 2010
Posted on: December 7, 2010 1:52 am
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

Most every comment here is based on what  the replay showed. In the split second of live play, the referee makes the best call he can. If the play is reviewable, it should be reviewed, if not, you have to live with the fact that people (even referees) are human, and can make mistakes if they don’t have the right angle at the split second of the event.
To say that the announcers didn’t think it is a penalty is misleading. Listen to the replay again. Here are the verbatim comments of the announcers right after the play occurred, before the referee announced the call, and before the announcers had the benefit of reviewing a replay:

Announcer 1: “…and he got hit hard, flag on the play. Ndamukong Suh gave him a forearm to the back.”

Announcer 2: “Right to the back of his head is what it looks like.”

So both of them saw exactly what was called. It wasn’t until the replay, with one angle showing that Suh had not used his forearm, that the announcers changed their commentary. Another angle on the replay was not clear, and one could easily think you saw him using a forearm.

So while the call was not correct on review, it is not a reviewable play. As a Bear fan, I’m happy. But I have to agree that Suh, a great player, made a great play, and got the wrong call. He is one of the few who refused to dwell on it and move on. A wise example.




Since: Oct 11, 2009
Posted on: December 5, 2010 7:59 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

LCKrazy, based on the rating of your comment, on the announcers stating it was not a penalty, on the video showing Suh's two arms extending out, and on Ed Hochuli back-tracking on his interview ("AS I SAW IT, he hit him in the back of the head.") it looks like the idiot is in your mirror.

That quote by Hochuli means he checked the video after the game, saw he was wrong, and is explaining that what HE SAW, was a hit to the head, but he's basically acknowledging he missed it.



Since: Feb 21, 2007
Posted on: December 5, 2010 7:57 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

I don't get it, what's a guy to do there, in my opinion he tried to bring him down the smartest and probably the safest way possible, if he grabs him from behind he risks getting the horse collar called on him and if he just dives and wraps up from behind even then Cutler's legs are at more risk.  Geez, pretty soon the NFL is just going to say you can only tackle from the front of a guy and you have to wrap up, you can't push him down.  Ridiculous!




Since: Oct 13, 2008
Posted on: December 5, 2010 7:52 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

Exactly, they are definitely going way overboard on the calls. Suh especially this year has been targeted. This is the 2nd bogus call made on him for his tackles. If it was a helmet to helmet than ok but give Suh credit for tackling in creative ways.



Since: Dec 21, 2006
Posted on: December 5, 2010 7:15 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

If you don't see that he palm-punched Cutler in the back of his skull, you're an idiot.



Since: Oct 11, 2009
Posted on: December 5, 2010 7:12 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

"in the process of going down"???   Cutler was NOT going down.

Furthermore, that was NOT to the head.

The NFL will likely be asking Hochuli to retire after this year.  He's made a couple of really bad, game-altering calls the last few years.



Since: Nov 9, 2009
Posted on: December 5, 2010 6:36 pm
 

Hochuli explains Cutler/Suh ruling (VIDEO)

Wow that was a BS call!! Come on this is getting ridiculous!!


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com