Blog Entry

Rodgers wins MVP, Brees and Suggs get POY Awards

Posted on: February 4, 2012 6:39 pm
Edited on: February 5, 2012 12:02 pm
Your 2012 NFL MVP is Rodgers. (Ryan Wilson,
By Will Brinson

INDIANAPOLIS -- Aaron Rodgers won the 2012 NFL MVP Award on Saturday night with Peyton Manning presenting him the hardware at the first-ever NFL Honors awards in Indy, the night before the Super Bowl.

"Looking forward to seeing you on the field again," Rodgers said as Peyton walked off the stage, before thanking his teammates and fans.

Rodgers was in a close race with Drew Brees for MVP late in the season but blew away the Saints quarterback in the voting, as he received 48 of a possible 50 first-place votes.

Brees got the consolation prize of winning the AP Offensive Player of the Year Award on Saturday night in a season where he broke Dan Marino's record for passing yards in a single season, throwing for 5,676 yards and a record-setting 468 completions. Brees received 43 votes for the award.

"Some pretty remarkable things happened that we were all lucky to be a part of," Brees said, reminiscing about his season. "The older you get the more you appreciate the opportunities and the moments."

The Ravens Terrell Suggs landed the award for Defensive Player of the Year Suggs, also known as T-Sizzle, delivered the funniest line of the night during his acceptance speech.

"I want to thank my parents for deciding to go through with it," Suggs said.
Newton is the NFL's rookie of the year. (Ryan Wilson,

Cam Newton, the Panthers star quarterback, was the first award-winner at the first-ever NFL Honors ceremony, netting the AP Rookie of the Year Award in Indianapolis at the Super Bowl. He also won the Pepsi Rookie of the Year Award, voted on by fans. Broncos linebacker Von Miller won the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Newton received 47 of 50 votes from AP voters; Miller received 39 of 50 possible votes. Andy Dalton and Aldon Smith were the respective runner-ups.

Latest from the Super Bowl

"Even with the lockout, that still didn't stop my process for preparing for the NFL," Newton said. "Whether it with Chris Weinke, George Whitfield, IMG -- everyone had a major role in the success I had this year."

Miller recorded 11.5 sacks with the Broncos and helped lead them to a shocking AFC West division title. Newton broke a number of different records, throwing for the most passing yards (4,051) by a rookie in NFL history, breaking the mark that Peyton Manning set in 1998. Newton also set the record for most rushing touchdowns by any quarterback, scoring 14 times on the ground.

Jim Harbaugh led the 49ers to a 13-3 record and garnered 45 of 50 votes for the AP Coach of the Year Award. Mike McCarthy netted three votes and Denver's John Fox received two.

Matthew Stafford received 21 of 50 votes in winning the AP Comeback Player of the Year Award. The presumed favorite, Alex Smith, only finished third.

Ravens center Matt Birk was named the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year.

"This award is not about the recipient, but rather a celebration of the decades-long tradition of NFL players using their unique platform to touch lives and make a positive impact in the communities in which they work and live," Birk said.

He wouldn't comment on whether or not he would return to play again in 2012.

Follow all of's Full Super Bowl Coverage (Photo credit: Ryan Wilson,

For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnNFL on Twitter, Like Us on Facebook, subscribe to our NFL newsletter, and while you're add it, add our RSS Feed.

Since: Jan 21, 2012
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:53 pm

Newton wins ROY awards at NFL Honors

Since: Aug 18, 2006
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:44 pm

Newton wins ROY awards at NFL Honors

What a joke that Marvin Lewis of the Cincinnati Bengals didn't get a single vote as coach of the year. That team was ranked 31st or 32nd in every "preseason power rankings" that I saw. They lost their best offensive player in Carson Palmer and best defensive player in Jonathan Joseph and yet with a rookie quarterback and a rookie star receiver and an improved defense went 9-7 in the toughest division in football (with 12-win teams Baltimore and Pittsburgh) and made the playoffs. How is that not better than the job done by McCarthy or Fox (whose team played in the most mediocre division in football and won 8 games)?

Since: Dec 30, 2006
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:33 pm

Newton wins ROY awards at NFL Honors

To say that they did nothing wrong is a little crazy.  The NCAA made a new rule filling in the loop holes that got the Newton's off the hook.  

Since: Feb 4, 2012
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:25 pm

Cam Newton, Von Miller are rookies of the year

The fact is, Cam was the victim of a myriad of unsubstantiated blatantly fabricated rumors and accusations at Auburn last year. The facts, as determined by a 13 month NCAA investigation are that NOTHING inappropriate happened between Auburn and Cam or his father last year. It was proven that officials at Miss.State attempted to entice his father with money to induce him ti sign with them. That is all! The fact that he overcame all the negative press and false accusations against him and his family and led Auburn to a National Championship and won a Heisman trophy are a testament to his inner strength and drive to overcome whatever obstacles are placed in front of him. Auburn fans only wish he would have stayed for his Senior year. We don't blame him for moving on and only wish him the best in his NFL carreer. It looks like the Panthers made a good first pick.

Since: Jun 10, 2011
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:17 pm

Newton wins ROY Award at NFL Honors

What a GREAT year for rookies in the NFL! Newton, Dalton, Green, Julio - all had good/great years on offense. On D, Von Miller was a terrific choice, but Aldon Smith, J.J. Watt, Brooks Reed, Marcel Dareus, and I'm sure others I'm forgetting, all had great years. Even Patrick Peterson had a phenomenal year on special teams. This is a rare, very deep class that produced more talent than I think most people expected.

Since: Jan 1, 2012
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:12 pm

Newton wins ROY Award at NFL Honors

If Cam Newton hadn't won Rookie of the Year they should have gotten rid of the award. He was amazing this season and the skies the limit on what he can do in the NFL.

Jim Harbaugh was also an obvious choice to win his award. Harbaugh did perhaps the best coaching job the NFL has seen in 20 years with the 49ers this season.

Since: Mar 11, 2007
Posted on: February 4, 2012 7:08 pm

Newton wins ROY Award at NFL Honors

LOL let us see this on TV! Don't spoil the whole awards show for us.

Since: Aug 10, 2011
Posted on: February 4, 2012 6:47 pm

Cam Newton, Von Miller are rookies of the year

Congrats to both.  Of course, I love me some Von Miller being a Broncos fan!  I think we lucked out when we drafted him.  I originally wanted to see Patrick Peterson get groomed by Champ Bailey and watch the two of them shut down the passing game for a few years before Champ retired.  Now, I see that Von Miller was the absolute right choice.  Congrats again!

Since: Nov 9, 2006
Posted on: February 4, 2012 6:46 pm

Cam Newton, Von Miller are rookies of the year

Personally, I am happy for Cam. A lot of people said his style of play wouldn't translate well into the NFL game. He seems to always have a positive attitude and I hope his work ethic sticks around. Whatever happened in college aside, he seems like a good guy and a solid NFL QB. Wish him continued success.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or