Blog Entry

Ref admits blowing call vs. Bulls

Posted on: May 9, 2011 10:38 am
Edited on: May 9, 2011 11:23 am
 
Official admits mistake in key call against Bulls in Game 4.
Posted by Matt Moore

Against the Hawks in Game 4, Derrick Rose tried the old "pump-fake and draw" approach on a 3-pointer. The defender was moving when contact was drawn, and refereee Bennett Salvatore blew the whistle. Then, he ruled it an "inadvertent whistle," no foul, and there was a jump ball. Steve Aschburner spoke to Salvatore post-game , and in a rare instance of transparency, a league official admitted his mistake. 

"I was positive it was not a foul. ... Having watched replay, it was a foul."


Well, then, that settles it. The league obviously has a vendetta against the small-market Chicago Bulls. Had that foul been awarded, Rose clearly would have hit all seven free throws necessary for the Bulls to take the lead and held off the Hawks for the remainder of the game. I mean, despite the fact that the Hawks outplayed the Bulls for four quarters, who comes back from from that kind of play?

Oh, wait, it would have only been three free throws when the Bulls were down six, and would have done nothing to change the fact that the Bulls couldn't hit sand if the dropped from the sky into Death Valley. And while momentum definitely would have shifted, let's not forget the way the Hawks responded to every Bulls charge in this game. It was a blown call. They happen. But no one is out to get the Bulls, and especially not the MVP. It was a tough break, but if the Bulls had played offensively with any sense of focus or coherency, they wouldn't care about this call. 

Nothing to see here, folks. Move on. 
Comments
WrinklyDinosaur
Since: Apr 6, 2011
Posted on: May 11, 2011 3:37 am
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Jan 17, 2009
Posted on: May 9, 2011 10:50 pm
 

Ref admits blowing call vs. Bulls

Nothing to see here, folks. Move on.
If there is nothing to see then why did you post it for us to see??



Since: Nov 14, 2009
Posted on: May 9, 2011 12:08 pm
 

Ref admits blowing call vs. Bulls

The officiating in all of the series this year has been a little lackluster.  I'm sure they made up for it with a blown call or two on the other end.  Teams shouldn't be putting themselves in positions to allow the refs to have an impact.



Since: Jul 27, 2010
Posted on: May 9, 2011 11:20 am
 

Ref admits blowing call vs. Bulls

Not a Bulls fan, but the possibility of cutting the lead to one possession with over two minutes left seems like it could've had an effect on the outcome.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com