Blog Entry

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Posted on: February 7, 2012 4:45 pm
Edited on: February 7, 2012 4:58 pm
Posted by Ben Golliver

Oops, we did it again.

The NBA has publicly admitted once again that one of its officials made an incorrect call on a game-deciding possession.

In a statement posted to on Tuesday, the NBA acknowledged that referee Scott Foster made an "incorrect call" when he whistled Portland Trail Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge for a goaltending violation with six seconds remaining in regulation of a Monday night game against the Oklahoma City Thunder at the Rose Garden. Aldridge, who was defending Thunder All-Star forward Kevin Durant, blocked the shot into the backboard, but was still whistled for a violation, as Foster apparently thought he had pinned the ball on the glass.

Here's the league's statement.

With six seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, the Blazers' LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on a shot attempted by the Thunder's Kevin Durant (shown below). With the benefit of slow motion replay following the game, it has been determined that Aldridge made contact with the ball just before the ball hit the backboard. Therefore, this should have been ruled a good block and goaltending was the incorrect call. (As determined by the NBA's Competition Committee, referees may not use instant replay on goaltending calls.)

The basket pulled Oklahoma City even in regulation and the Thunder went on to win in overtime, 111-107.

Following the game, Blazers coach Nate McMillan disputed the call and told the media that he would send video of the play to the league office for review. 

Aldridge disputed the call and was upset that the referees did not offer him an explanation.

"They act kind of sensitive sometimes," Aldridge said when asked if the referees had given him any explanation of their call. "He just told me the call was done and walked away... I timed it perfect, I put it on the glass, it didn't hit the glass first. I figured it was a clean block. The ref who called it was the furthest one from the basket so that's pretty interesting."

Back on Jan. 21, the NBA admitted its referees blew a no-call on a fourth-quarter kick ball by Pacers guard George Hill, which helped push Indiana to a late win. The NBA also admitted this season that their referees blew a late no-call on a traveling violation by Miami Heat All-Star forward LeBron James.

Here's a video replay of the blown goaltending call during a game between the Portland Trail Blazers and Oklahoma City Thunder.


Since: Sep 13, 2010
Posted on: February 7, 2012 9:34 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

you are right on. that was a fixed call. just look at the replay and it is obvious. the NBA is a fixed league, Stern is the man behind the curtian of Oz.

Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 9:33 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator

Since: Aug 30, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 9:24 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Referee threw that game.  He was far from the basket AND look how quick and dramatic he called that.  Any decent ref would have known that the other guys had a better view and wouldn't have been so quick to embarrass himself.  This apology?...just damage control to fake the believers into thinking it was really an 'accident' and a 'mistake'.  No doubt this Foster guy is one of Stern's company men and he totally knew what he was doing when he made that it again!  Btw, congrats to David have just given me another reason not to watch any NBA basketball this season.

Since: Aug 22, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 9:16 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Foster should be doing middle school girls. 

Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 8:43 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Google Scott Foster.  Find out how close he was to the Donaghy scandal.  I was at this game.  This game was decided by the referee.  He will get a handslap from the NBA, but he'll turn his hand over and walk away a richer man.  Sad for the 19,000+ in Portland. 

Since: Sep 28, 2007
Posted on: February 7, 2012 8:05 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Vince McStern and the NBAWWF strike again.

Since: Sep 19, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 8:04 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Aldridge likely wouldn't have made the block had he not locked onto Durant's arm and half turned him around.  Plus this call didn't win the game for either team, it tied it.  Blazers had the same chance to win in OT but didn't have the mojo to pull it off.  

Since: Mar 27, 2009
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:55 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Simple enough solution to this kind of unfair call, and it's called "instant replay".  Ever hear of it commish?  Get into the 21st century NBA and use the technology that's readily available.  The NFL does it on all close or disputable calls in the last minute or two of each half, and it would be easy to do in these type of game changing instances in the NBA as well.  I guess it's just too easy a solution for David Stern, the fossil who has been calling himself commish for the last century or so.

Since: Sep 14, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:50 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

This makes me feel so much better as a Blazer fan.  "Hey, we botched that call, cost you the game, sorry."  

I've slowly been weening myself of the NBA, and this is just another reason I probably scale back to one game a year at the Rose Garden.  Fire Stern, now.   

Since: Dec 10, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:30 pm

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Did I see that right? Was in  the back official jumping in from 40 feet away making the call? If so, how in the world could yopu ever expect to make the call from that angle and that far away?

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or