Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
Blog Entry

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Posted on: February 7, 2012 4:45 pm
Edited on: February 7, 2012 4:58 pm
 
Posted by Ben Golliver

Oops, we did it again.

The NBA has publicly admitted once again that one of its officials made an incorrect call on a game-deciding possession.

In a statement posted to NBA.com/official on Tuesday, the NBA acknowledged that referee Scott Foster made an "incorrect call" when he whistled Portland Trail Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge for a goaltending violation with six seconds remaining in regulation of a Monday night game against the Oklahoma City Thunder at the Rose Garden. Aldridge, who was defending Thunder All-Star forward Kevin Durant, blocked the shot into the backboard, but was still whistled for a violation, as Foster apparently thought he had pinned the ball on the glass.

Here's the league's statement.

With six seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, the Blazers' LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on a shot attempted by the Thunder's Kevin Durant (shown below). With the benefit of slow motion replay following the game, it has been determined that Aldridge made contact with the ball just before the ball hit the backboard. Therefore, this should have been ruled a good block and goaltending was the incorrect call. (As determined by the NBA's Competition Committee, referees may not use instant replay on goaltending calls.)

The basket pulled Oklahoma City even in regulation and the Thunder went on to win in overtime, 111-107.

Following the game, Blazers coach Nate McMillan disputed the call and told the media that he would send video of the play to the league office for review. 

Aldridge disputed the call and was upset that the referees did not offer him an explanation.

"They act kind of sensitive sometimes," Aldridge said when asked if the referees had given him any explanation of their call. "He just told me the call was done and walked away... I timed it perfect, I put it on the glass, it didn't hit the glass first. I figured it was a clean block. The ref who called it was the furthest one from the basket so that's pretty interesting."

Back on Jan. 21, the NBA admitted its referees blew a no-call on a fourth-quarter kick ball by Pacers guard George Hill, which helped push Indiana to a late win. The NBA also admitted this season that their referees blew a late no-call on a traveling violation by Miami Heat All-Star forward LeBron James.

Here's a video replay of the blown goaltending call during a game between the Portland Trail Blazers and Oklahoma City Thunder.


Comments

Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:22 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

King 1... Full disclosure I bet on Portland last night and wanted to know the name of the official that cost me money. NBA .com lists the referee assignments and he was the only white official on lastnights crew. I google his name and all this crap about Foster and Donaghy pops up. I can't tell you how frustrating that is. Any ref but him I would just write it off as a bad call. Never again will I bet an NBA game without checking to see if Scott Foster is officiating. The guy is suspect. You are right about checking bank accounts!



Since: Jul 5, 2010
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:06 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

hey king1, stern is brains of the whole operation.

U think the refs aren't under direct control of darth stern?



Since: Nov 21, 2011
Posted on: February 7, 2012 7:02 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

liloliver - fully agree - after reading the article something stinks and seems to be a trend here. Stern might want to start checking bank accts!



Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 6:56 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

What the article fails to mention is that official is Scott Foster. Tim Donaghys best friend who was investigated for fixing games. This game was a pick em betting line and Portland were up by two when the game changing call was made...Emphatically. During the investigation into Tim Donaghy it was revealed that the only person Donaghy called and texted more than his bookie was Scott Foster. And all the phone calls were under two minutes in duration. This guy is a total cheat and lastnite was an obvious example. The NBA needs to get rid of officials like him or tarnish the game irreparably.



Since: Aug 16, 2006
Posted on: February 7, 2012 6:06 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

@epiphany You're totally right. You can clearly see Aldridge grabbing and trying to swipe away at Durant's left arm as he was driving the lane. I know Blazers fans would never admit this but there were PLENTY of no calls in last nights game that went the Blazers way. I can't tell you how many times I saw Batum and Wallace literally mugging Durant, Westbrook, or Harden last night. For instance in the 2nd half when Harden was dribbling at the top of the key and the ball was tipped into the backcourt and Batum nearly ran him over trying to get to the ball. Clearly a foul but nothing was called. And that's how it went most of the game for the Blazers, getting away with fouling. Had the game been called correctly the Thunder would've had a lot more free throw attempts and the goaltending wouldn't have even been an issue since the Thunder would've likely been well ahead by that point in the game.


tallsarabrightm
Since: Feb 7, 2012
Posted on: February 7, 2012 6:02 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Mar 12, 2010
Posted on: February 7, 2012 5:44 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

The interesting thing about this is that it's not a goaltending even if he does hit the ball after it hits the backboard as long as the ball is still on its way up. I was just talking about this nuance with a friend. Tough situation and tough call though.



Since: Feb 14, 2009
Posted on: February 7, 2012 5:38 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Aldridge was fouling Durant all the way to the hoop, so it all evened out.



Since: May 26, 2008
Posted on: February 7, 2012 5:34 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

 Why are the majority of referees over the age of 60?



Since: Feb 1, 2008
Posted on: February 7, 2012 5:26 pm
 

NBA admits referee blew late goaltending call

Why are they not using replay on plays like this in the final minute of games?  I thought they were allowed to.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com