Blog Entry

Finalists named for Unitas Golden Arm Award

Posted on: November 23, 2010 9:22 am
Posted by Chip Patterson

In the 2010 college football season, we have been fortunate to see exhilarating quarterback play all across the nation.  There has been Mallett and Newton in the SEC, and the big arms of Luck and Moore on out west.  Unfortunately none of those players are seniors, and do not quality for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.  As opposed to the Davey O'Brien award, given to the nation's most outstanding quarterback; the Unitas Golden Arm Award is saved for the nation's top senior quarterback.  So without further ado, here are the finalists who will be receiving coupons to Country Kitchen Buffet.

Andy Dalton, TCU
Colin Kaepernick, Nevada
Christian Ponder, Florida State
Ricky Stanzi, Iowa
Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin

Obviously all these quarterbacks have had great seasons, and should not be overlooked just because of their age.  In fact, many of the names on that list were favorites for the Davey O'Brien coming into the season.  However, winning the Unitas Golden Arm Award could be a good omen of things to come at the next level.  Recent award winners include Colt McCoy (2009), Matt Ryan (2007), Eli Manning (2003), Carson Palmer (2002), and Peyton Manning (1997).  Not a bad crew to be associated with if you ask me.  

The 2010 winner will be presented with the Golden Arm Award in a ceremony on December 10 in Downtown Baltimore.  Many of Unitas' Baltimore Colts teammates will be on hand, including Unitas' center and current Georgia State football coach, Bill Curry.

Since: Dec 2, 2011
Posted on: December 27, 2011 12:46 am

Finalists named for Unitas Golden Arm Award

Your internet website page seems to have made it simpler for my opinion numerous to produce as soon as more significantly more self-assurance in the my self. The majority of thank you! Ive beloved this method that will our close friends relating to top out of which one.

Since: Jun 20, 2007
Posted on: November 23, 2010 12:30 pm

Finalists named for Unitas Golden Arm Award

Go Frogs!!

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or