Blog Entry

2011 Divisional Hall of Fame class announced

Posted on: May 24, 2011 1:04 pm

Posted by Tom Fornelli

Last week the College Football Hall of Fame's 2011 class was announced for the Division I level -- what we now call the FBS, or are at least supposed to -- and it was a pretty strong class, even if some key names were left off. On Tuesday the National Football Foundation announced its divisional class, which consists of players who played in the FCS, Divisions II and III and the NAIA. The most recognizable name on the list would be former James Madison standout Charles Haley.

While Haley made his name in the NFL with the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers, winning five Super Bowl rings during his career, he also left a giant footprint at James Madison. He was the first player in school history to be a First Team All-American, and he was also the first player to ever be drafted by the NFL. So it's only fitting that he'd become the first James Madison player to be selected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Joining Haley in South Bend this fall will be:

- Dexter Coakley, Appalachian State, LB (1993-96)

- Mike Favor, North Dakota State, C (1985-88)

- Mickey Kobrosky, Trinity College (Conn.) B (1933-36)

- Mike Kelly, Coach, Dayton

- Bill Manlove, Coach, Widener (Pa.), Delaware Valley (Pa.), LaSalle (1961-2001) 


Since: Aug 5, 2008
Posted on: May 24, 2011 2:20 pm

2011 Divisional Hall of Fame class announced

Not a bad list at all.  I'm looking forward to the following former NFL players to be added in the future as well:

Walter Payton - Jackson State Univ.
Jerry Rice - Mississippi Valley State Univ.
Steve McNair - Alcorn State Univ.
London Fletcher - John Carroll
Gary Clark - Jame Madison Univ.
Dave Krieg - Milton College
Art Shell - Maryland State now Univiersity of Maryland, Eastern Shore
Eddie Robinson - Grambling State Univ.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or