Blog Entry

Lombardi Award Preseason Watch List

Posted on: July 13, 2011 12:17 pm
Edited on: July 13, 2011 1:07 pm

Posted by Tom Fornelli

The latest award to release its preseason watch list is the Lombardi Award, which was announced on Tuesday. The award is given annually to the best lineman in the country. Whether it be an offensive guard or a defensive end, if your Saturday is spent battling in the trenches, and you dominate the line of scrimmage like nobody else, The Rotary Lombardi Committee wants you to know that you aren't working in anonymity. Even linebackers can get in on the mix if they put their hands in the dirt from time to time.

Last year's recipient was Auburn defensive tackle Nick Fairley.

Here are this season's candidates.

Mike Adams, OT, Ohio State
Levy Adcock, OT, Oklahoma State
Jeff Allen, OT, Illinois
Alvin Bailey, G, Arkansas
Don Barclay, OT, West Virginia
Kelvin Beachum, OT, SMU
Jake Bequette, DE, Arkansas
Nigel Bradham, LB, Florida State
Mike Brewster, C, Ohio State
Tanner Brock, LB, TCU
Jaymes Brooks, G, Virginia Tech
Austin Brown, DT, Miami
Vince Browne, DE, Northwestern
Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State
Ben Burkett, C, Northwestern
Miles Burris, LB, San Diego State
Thomas Byrd, C, Boise State
Tank Carder, LB, TCU
Audie Cole, LB, NC State
Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
Quinton Coples, DT, North Carolina
Jared Crick, DT, Nebraska
Vinny Curry, DE, Marshall
Andrew Datko, OT, Florida State
Lavonte David, OT, Nebraska
Ja'Gared Davis, LB, SMU
Demario Davis, LB, Arkansas State
David DeCastro, G, Stanford
Blake DeChristopher, OT, Virginia Tech
Joe Duhon, G, Southern Miss
Lonnie Edwards, G, Texas Tech
Joe Flading, OT, Ohio
Joel Foreman, G, Michigan State
Marcus Forston, DT, Miami
Jerry Franklin, LB, Arkansas
Dalton Freeman, C, Clemson
Cordy Glenn, G/T, Georgia
Stephen Good, G, Oklahoma
Ben Habern, C, Oklahoma
Logan Harrell, DT, Fresno State
Dont'a Hightower, LB, Alabama
Alex Hoffman, G, Cincinnati
Jaye Howard, DT, Florida
Bruce Irvin, DE, West Virginia
Malik Jackson, DE/DT, Tennessee
Brandon Jenkins, DE, Florida State
Tony Jerod-Eddie, DL, Texas A&M
Luke Joeckel, OT, Texas A&M
Cam Johnson, DT, Virginia
Chandler Jones, DE, Syracuse
Barrett Jones, G, Alabama
Ben Jones, C, Georgia
Matt Kalil, OT, USC
Mychal Kendricks, LB, Cal
Jake Knott, LB, Iowa State
Peter Konz, C, Wisconsin
Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
Shaun Lewis, LB, Oklahoma State
Travis Lewis, LB, Oklahoma
Brandon Lindsey, DE, Pitt
Trent Mackey, LB, Tulane
Brad Madison, DL, Missouri
Jonathan Martin, OT, Stanford
Mike Martin, DT, Michigan
Chris Marve, LB, Vanderbilt
Jonathan Massaquoi, DE, Troy
Matt McCants, OT, UAB
Shea McClellin, DE, Boise State
Marcus McGraw, LB, Houston
Cameron Meredith, DE, Nebraska
Carmen Messina, LB, New Mexico
Ryan Miller, G, Colorado
Julian Miller, DT, West Virginia
David Molk, C, Michigan
Roosevelt Nix, DE, Kent State
Trevor Olson, OT, Northern Illinois
Kelechi Osemele, OT, Iowa State
Donte Paige-Moss, DE, North Carolina
Corey Paredes, LB, Hawai'i
Nick Perry, DE, USC
Moe Petrus, C, UConn
Nate Potter, OT, Boise State
Tydreke Powell, DT, North Carolina
Sean Progar, DE, Northern Illinois
Kheeson Randall, DL, Texas
Taylor Reed, LB, SMU
Riley Reiff, OT, Iowa
Kendall Reyes, DE, UConn
Matt Reynolds, OT, BYU
Travian Robertson, DT, South Carolina
Keenan Robinson, LB, Texas
Adrian Robinson, DE, Temple
Mike Ryan, OT, UConn
Quentin Saulsberry, G/C, Mississippi State
JK Schaffer, LB, Cincinnati
Mitchell Schwartz, OT, Cal
Mychall Sisson, LB, Colorado State
Shayne Skov, LB, Stanford
Jacquies Smith, DE, Missouri
Bradley Sowell, OT, Ole MIss
Sean Spence, LB, Miami
Andrew Sweat, LB, Ohio State
Alameda Ta'amu, DT, Washington
Bruce Taylor, LB, Virginia Tech
Devin Taylor, DE, South Carolina
Manti Te'o, LB, Notre Dame
Taylor Thompson, DE, SMU
Chris Thompson, C, Houston
Danny Trevathan, LB, Kentucky
Jabaree Tuani, DE, Navy
Courtney Upshaw, DE/LB, Alabama
Joe Vellano, DT, Maryland
William Vlachos, C, Alabama
Bobby Wagner, LB, Utah State
Chaz Walker, LB, Utah
Larry Warford, G, Kentucky
Brandon Washington, G, Miami 
Scott Wedige, C, Northern Illinois
Sean Westgate, LB, UCLA
Garrick Williams, LB, Texas A&M
Korey Williams, LB, Southern Miss
Billy Winn, DT, Boise State
Jerel Worthy, DT, Michigan State
Carson York, G, Oregon
Kevin Zeitler, G, Wisconsin 


Since: Aug 23, 2006
Posted on: July 14, 2011 12:36 pm

Lombardi Award Preseason Watch List

Lavonte David, OT, Nebraska

How the heck is that even possible?  Lavonte David is a LINEBACKER!  Not an offensive lineman.   The only OL I could think of that MIGHT be on this list is either Jeremiah Sirles or Jermarcus "Yoshi" Hardrick... maybe Marcel Jones but probably not.  Give me a break!

Since: Aug 7, 2010
Posted on: July 13, 2011 12:56 pm

Lombardi Award Preseason Watch List

Nice to see 4 Broncos on the list with all the 4 and 5 Star recruits.  GO BRONCOS!

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or