Blog Entry

Davey O'Brien Award semifinalists announced

Posted on: October 24, 2011 3:23 pm
Edited on: October 24, 2011 3:52 pm
Posted by Tom Fornelli

We've reached the point of the college football season where those preseason watch lists we all remember from a few months ago start to whittle down to lists of semifinalists, and today we've got the 16 remaining contenders for the Davey O'Brien Award. The Davey O'Brien Award is given out annually by the Davey O'Brien Foundation to the best quarterback in the nation, and with all the great quarterbacks we've seen so far this season, it's not easy to cut this group down.

Though when you see the 16 names who made the cut below, you'll have a hard time arguing against any of them.

Matt Barkley, USC
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Kirk Cousins, Michigan State
Seth Doege, Texas Tech
Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Landry Jones, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, Houston
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Kellen Moore, Boise State
Keith Price, Washington
Denard Robinson, Michigan
Ryan Tannehill, Texas A&M
Darron Thomas, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
Russell Wilson, Wisconsin
Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

It's a pretty nice group, and there isn't anybody in it who I'd argue should be taken out.

Since: Mar 28, 2008
Posted on: October 25, 2011 9:20 am

Davey O'Brien Award semifinalists announced

Cousins dropped the Hail Mary pass right where it needed to be.  A class act on all fronts

Since: Aug 29, 2010
Posted on: October 24, 2011 8:14 pm

Davey O'Brien Award semifinalists announced

WOOOOOOOOO PIG SOOOOIEEEEEEE! Let's get Tyler some hardware to go with all those great performances.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or