Blog Entry

Five players named Heisman Trophy finalists

Posted on: December 5, 2011 6:21 pm
Edited on: December 5, 2011 6:28 pm
Posted by Chip Patterson

One of the most wide-open Heisman races in recent memory has entered the final stage, with the finalists for this year's Heisman Trophy being named on Monday evening.

The following players will be in attendance for the presentation of the award in New York City, in alphabetical order:

Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Robert Griffin III
, Baylor
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
Trent Richardson
, Alabama

The iconic stiff-arm trophy will be presented to "the most outstanding player in collegiate football" on Saturday evening in the official ceremony hosted by the Heisman Trophy Trust.  The last time five players were finalists for the Heisman Trophy was 2009 when Mark Ingram, Toby Gerhart, Colt McCoy, Tim Tebow, and Ndamukong Suh all made the trip to New York.   

Of the finalists, who do you think deserves to win the Heisman Trophy? Let us know by chiming in at the new Eye On College Football Facebook page.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the regular season all the way through the bowl games, has you covered with this daily newsletter. | Preview

Since: Dec 13, 2007
Posted on: December 5, 2011 6:47 pm

Five players named Heisman Trophy finalists

Tyrann Mathieu, LSU and Trent Richardson, Alabama are the only two that the Heisman will vote for. Remember the Heisman is the best player on the best team. Reminds me of the BCS.

Since: Oct 29, 2007
Posted on: December 5, 2011 6:39 pm

Five players named Heisman Trophy finalists

I watch lots of college football and from what I have seen, RG III has done more for his team than Mathieu or Richardson.  Even Ball has Wilson to defray the defense.  So my logic says the Heisman should go to either Luck (who has a great offensive line) or RG III (who has pure athletic skills) and my vote is for RG III followed by Luck and Ball.  I also listen to sports talk radio and predict based on that, it will be Luck in a landslide because he is the prototype NFL QB.  If character plays a roll, which it probably doesn't, it would still be Luck and RG III.  On the other hand so many winners have failed in the NFL that maybe the winner is facing a kiss of death (like being on the front of Sports Illustrated).

Since: Oct 27, 2010
Posted on: December 5, 2011 6:28 pm

Five players named Heisman Trophy finalists

Tryrone Matthew should never be on this ballot; in fact, he should have been kicked off the team months ago. He is a criminal and I hope he doesn't come close to even sniffing this award. 

I once said this about Troy Smith, but Smith is like Mr. Rodgers compared to Tyrone Matthew. Kid doesn't even know how to spell his own name right.

Give it to RGIII!  

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or