Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
Blog Entry

Conference tourney preview: SWAC

Posted on: March 9, 2011 3:20 pm
Edited on: March 9, 2011 3:20 pm

Many didn't expect Tony Harvey to be back in basketball, let alone with a head-coaching job. The former assistant at Missouri was out of the game for a few years after Quin Snyder was fired in Columbia. But here he is at Texas Southern, leading the team to a 16-2 record in the SWAC. His team is the overwhelming favorite to win the conference tournament.

The league is rated as the worst or second-worst by all major ranking systems. The SWAC isn't sexy, but it will be getting a bid and does provide a gritty, rough brand of basketball. 

The key question with this year's conference tournament: will history be repeated?

Last year, the Tigers were favored as well but got clipped by Arkansas Pine-Bluff in the finals. Pine Bluff is a 7-23 team this year, so don't expect that to happen again. Plus, Harvey's team is older, more developed and much improved, defensively. Traditionally, defense is what wins this tournament. 

If Texas Southern is going to get challenged, Jackson State seems like the team to do it. The other brand of Tigers in the SWAC finished 12-6 in the conference and 16-14 overall.

If the two meet in the title game, expect a low-scoring affair and tons of bodies on the floor. Jackson State is one of the best teams in the country at turning its foes over.

Mississippi Valley State (12-6) and Alabama State (11-7) can make a run too, as this conference has shown, almost as much as any other, it can be unpredictable in March. When the basketball teams are rated so poorly, a crap shoot isn't such a bad thing.



Title game: Friday, 8:30 p.m., March 12 (ESPN2)


  1. Kevin Galloway, Texas Southern
  2. Jenirro Bush, Jackson State
  3. Travele Jones, Texas Southern

Conference RPI: 31 rating: 33

Sagarin rating: 3

NCAA tournament locks: None

NCAA tournament bubble teams: None

Tournament history

  • Alabama A&M: 2005. Lost in the play-in game to Oakland, 79-69.
  • Alabama State: 2009. Lost in the play-in game to Morehead State, 58-43.
  • Arkansas-Pine Bluff: 2010. Beat Winthrop in the play-in game, lost to Duke in the first round, 73-44.
  • Jackson State: 2007. Lost to Florida in the first round, 112-69.
  • Grambling: 0 NCAA appearances. 
  • Mississippi Valley State: 2008. Lost to UCLA in the first round, 70-29. 
  • Prairie View: 1998. Lost to Kansas in the first round, 110-52.
  • Texas Southern: 2003. Lost in the play-in game to UNC-Asheville, 92-84, in overtime. 

Posted by Matt Norlander

Photo: AP
Category: NCAAB
Tags: SWAC

Since: Mar 9, 2011
Posted on: March 9, 2011 4:22 pm

Who has the longest winning streak in college bk? not the one in PA the one in Virginia

NOVA men’s basketball wins first state championship   CHESAPEAKE, VA (March 6, 2011) – Northern Virginia Community College defeated Thomas Nelson 78-71 on Sunday afternoon to capture the 2011 Virginia Community College System men’s basketball championship at Oscar Smith High School in Chesapeake, Virginia.   Trailing 17-4 in the opening minutes, NOVA rallied to secure the College’s first ever VCCS Championship.  TNCC led 42-41 at halftime.   “We certainly made it a dramatic finish,” said fifth year head coach Mike Fitzmaurice.  “However, I am proud of the way we responded with our backs to the wall.  We didn’t overreact and kept our composure.  It was a total team effort.”   NOVA closed out the season with 22 consecutive victories and completed the VCCS regular season schedule with a 10-0 record.   “The thing I am most proud of is this team never felt the pressure of the winning streak,” said Fitzmaurice.  “Emotion can be your worst enemy or your best friend.   Fortunately, it was our friend this year.  We played the entire season with an every possession matters mentality and it paid off.”    Tomas Camera led five scorers in double figures with 17 points.  Westley Ford added 14 points, and Rich Waldron netted 12 points.  Bobby Mott and Jonathan Ball each contributed 10 points.   TNCC was paced by Melvine Horne’s 15 points.   Waldron (Edison High School/Alexandria, VA) was selected as the VCCS Tournament’s Most Valuable Player.   Camera (T.C. Williams High School/Alexandria, VA) and Ford (Paul VI Catholic High School/Arlington, VA) were named to the All Tournament Team.   The NOVA women’s basketball team lost to tournament host Tidewater Community College 57-47 in the championship game.   TNCC (71) – DaVonte Jackson, 3; Sean Johnson, 14; Melvine Horne, 15; Darnell Berry, 6; Tyrone Berry, 14; Dana Jackson, 12; Danta Cooper, 7.
NOVA (78) – Gavin Peterson, 7; Westley Ford, 14; Bobby Mott, 10; Jonathan Ball, 10; Dominque Goodwin, 4; Tomas Camera, 17; Richard Waldron, 12; Jonathan Gaston, 5. 
RECORDS: NOVA 26-5 (13-0 VCCS); TNCC 11-6 VCCS

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or