Blog Entry

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Posted on: November 1, 2011 11:37 pm
Edited on: November 1, 2011 11:48 pm
 
By: Adam Gretz

The Detroit Red Wings lost their fifth straight game on Tuesday night, dropping a 2-1 overtime decision to the Minnesota Wild thanks to a Devin Setoguchi power play goal 1:33 into the extra period, just 24 seconds after Johan Franzen was sent off for goaltender interference. Setoguchi was standing just outside the crease to bang in a rebound for his fourth goal of the season to end the game, but it's what happened just prior that has Red Wings fans  a little upset.

To the moving pictures!

After Minnesota captain Mikko Koivu, who scored his first goal of the season earlier in the game, attempted a one-timer from the top of the circle that was blocked, he and Detroit's Niklas Kronwall were involved in a race for the puck that ended when Koivu delivered a hit that left the newly signed Red Wings defenseman a bit stunned. But was it interference?



You can check out the entire Interference rule (Rule 56) in the NHL rule book right here. Do Red Wings fans have a legitimate gripe? Or is this is a good non-call and a good hockey play by Koivu? I'll say this: I've seen it called for less.

In other news, Helene St. James of the Detroit Free Press reports, via Twitter, that Kronwall was injured on the play and will be reevaluated on Wednesday. Rough night for the Red Wings.

For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter.

Comments

Since: Mar 30, 2007
Posted on: November 3, 2011 1:23 am
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

any news on a suspension? If brushing a players head is suspension worthy than this is more than enough.



Since: Jul 2, 2009
Posted on: November 2, 2011 7:45 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

W's



Since: Jan 29, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 5:05 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Actually, although Bertuzzi used to be a thug, he actually can make a lot of money playing a game he loves. 



Since: Jan 29, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 5:01 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

I guess we'll have to settle this in the playoffs.  Oh wait, the Wild probably won't make the playoffs.  Hah hah hah!!



Since: Jan 29, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 4:58 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Of course, by definition, that's an interference penalty.  However, Kronwall needs to step up his game at this crucial point in the match and just get to the puck and get it up the ice.  I'm a diehard Red Wings fan, but will someone please tell them that hockey is not a skating competition, and you need to put the puck in the net please!?  They're averaging 1 goal a game over the last 5, and hmmm, interestingly enough, they lost all of them.  I guess I picked the wrong week to stop sniffin' glue.



Since: Jul 2, 2009
Posted on: November 2, 2011 4:00 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

W's



Since: Nov 28, 2008
Posted on: November 2, 2011 3:45 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

heritage08 man lets be honest our blue jackets suck because we cant get together a team that will play well behind ricky....

Red Wings fans are annoying as hell like a lot of penguins fans but they got a legit point here



Since: Jun 10, 2008
Posted on: November 2, 2011 3:24 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Definitely, considering the ratio of calls against the Wings to calls against the Wild that game (8:1??) and the fact that anybody who follows hockey knows Euro players are sneaky-dirty.  BTW, I'm not saying some Detroit pelaties weren't well-deserved, e.g. Bertuzzi's slash, Franzen's and Miller's goalie interferences.  But call it both ways, especially in a 4 on 3 overtime situation.




Since: Mar 30, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 2:53 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

well said if it happens the other way people cry dirty wngs etcbut because its the wing gettins screwed we whine? Sorry stadning up for yourself and sayin bullshit to a bullshit call isnt whining. Thats called standing up for yourself.
Look at the play He knew Kronwall was there and elivered a shead shot either with his elbow or sholder. That should have been a 5 min major. Also This should be looked at and he should be suspended and fined. Dirty head hunting shots like this have no place in hockey.




Since: Sep 10, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 1:23 pm
 

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

As a Bluejackets fan, this crap happens all the time to the Bluejackets, and no one ever talks about it, yet when it happens to the Redwings, cbs posts it as one of their top stories.  What a joke.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com