Blog Entry

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Posted on: November 1, 2011 11:37 pm
Edited on: November 1, 2011 11:48 pm
By: Adam Gretz

The Detroit Red Wings lost their fifth straight game on Tuesday night, dropping a 2-1 overtime decision to the Minnesota Wild thanks to a Devin Setoguchi power play goal 1:33 into the extra period, just 24 seconds after Johan Franzen was sent off for goaltender interference. Setoguchi was standing just outside the crease to bang in a rebound for his fourth goal of the season to end the game, but it's what happened just prior that has Red Wings fans  a little upset.

To the moving pictures!

After Minnesota captain Mikko Koivu, who scored his first goal of the season earlier in the game, attempted a one-timer from the top of the circle that was blocked, he and Detroit's Niklas Kronwall were involved in a race for the puck that ended when Koivu delivered a hit that left the newly signed Red Wings defenseman a bit stunned. But was it interference?

You can check out the entire Interference rule (Rule 56) in the NHL rule book right here. Do Red Wings fans have a legitimate gripe? Or is this is a good non-call and a good hockey play by Koivu? I'll say this: I've seen it called for less.

In other news, Helene St. James of the Detroit Free Press reports, via Twitter, that Kronwall was injured on the play and will be reevaluated on Wednesday. Rough night for the Red Wings.

For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter.


Since: Apr 17, 2010
Posted on: November 2, 2011 1:20 pm

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

I love to hear the Red wings fans cry.
So it begins...

I'm assuming you got both my DVD's on how to be a troll, eh? I believe it's the third rule of troll-dome: "Use the words 'cry' or 'crying' in your posts to really beef up your argument. You can even go as far as 'wahhhhhhhhhhh' -- it hits the 'haters' a lot harder." The fact that it was the first sentence of your post makes it all the better. "Cry" is literally my favorite word used by trolls on this site. Good for you, my friend. You're well on your way. Cheers! Laughing

Since: Nov 22, 2006
Posted on: November 2, 2011 1:03 pm

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Great post Legion (awesome movie too).  As a Wild fan I agree with pretty much everything you said, especially the last sentence.  As a fan of the Wild I think it was a great non call.  If this happens in reverse I'm screaming blood murder when my team loses in OT on a losing streak.

Since: Aug 28, 2006
Posted on: November 2, 2011 12:31 pm

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Wow, what a over reaction by everyone, it's 10 games into the season and the Red Wings are being wrote off and time to start the rebuilding.  Come playoff time I will look back and this and ponder "what happened" to all the haters.

Since: Nov 2, 2011
Posted on: November 2, 2011 12:20 pm

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Ah Howard was holding Setoguchi. Look at the look Seto gives Howard is a what the heck and watch him struggle to throw him off. Good non-call. Besides how many times over the years has Holstrom and Franzan sat on goaltenders? Alot!!!

Since: Mar 2, 2008
Posted on: November 2, 2011 11:28 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Well, their return as the Dead Things slogan seems to be coming sooner rather then later unfortunately.   A 20 year run of awsome is great, but a team eventually cannot keep it up.  Red Wings are getting close to an actual rebuild process starting again.

Since: Oct 8, 2010
Posted on: November 2, 2011 11:13 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Probably. Seems to me to be beside the point really. The Wings gave up the tying goal at the 19:00 minute mark and that sucked the wind out of the sails. Thus, the penalty in OT. The Wing's lack of scoring is the real issue. Call it grit, scrappiness, determination or maybe even backbone, but something is sorely missing in team play. In another two weeks or so we'll have the answer and, most likely, a couple of trades. Come December, I wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of long time Red Wings in a different uniform.

Since: Feb 23, 2009
Posted on: November 2, 2011 11:05 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

I love to hear the Red wings fans cry.  The hit ont he goalie was a doubt about it.  The hit on Kronwall was not a penalty but he sure made it look bad because he was not ready for it.  Every time the puck is dunped in the zone a defenseman and a player head into the corner.  The defensemen always slows down thus creating contact.  This was not much different although Koivu put a good shoulder into it and Kronwell was not ready for it.  If it was called it would not have been the worst call of the night however I think it was a good non call.  As for the guy saying howard was being interefered with before the goal took place, I'm not sure what you are watching.  Howard is screwing tih Setiguuci causing the contact and I'm guessing the reff was yelling at Howard to let him go.  Great finish and the Red Wings just need to learn to put away teams early becasue they should have had a 3 goal lead after 1.  wild skated with them the rest of the way. 

Since: Jan 2, 2009
Posted on: November 2, 2011 10:00 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

That was a clean play the puck was right in front of koivu when he made the check its all because detriot lost 5 in a row

Since: Aug 3, 2011
Posted on: November 2, 2011 9:39 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

Rules state that a player must play the puck before engaging in a check to an opposing player.  I'd be fine with the "NO CALL" if the game had been officiated that way through its entirety.  The problem was the 8 - 3 disparity in penalties for the game.  By rule, Koivu had not played the puck yet so initiating contact with Kronwall should have constituted a penalty.  Especially with the Wild having a man advantage in overtime of a 1-1 game.

Since: Feb 16, 2007
Posted on: November 2, 2011 9:16 am

Did Koivu interfere with Kronwall on game-winner?

I will start off by saying I am a Flyers fan so I have no ties to either team nor do I really hate one or the other. 

I think it was a clean play. I think what made it look like a bad play was that Kronwall was not ready to be hit. You see this all the time in the NHL. A defender and an opposing player are going for a puck and there is contact before either gets to the puck. Usually the defender will wrap up the player and take them to the boards (before the puck is even toucher by either player). In this situation I think Koivo was looking to keep some seperation from Kronwall and make a play and turns out Kronwall was not thinking about playing the body but going puck first and he was not ready for the hit.

I think if Kronwall was prepared better it would have been nothing more than a bump between two players going for a puck. The way he went down made it look worse.

As for the guy that stated the ref looked away...gimme a break. The ref was watching the play and if you notice the camera angle the ref was behind both players so he couldnt see the puck or if either player had control. If anything it would have been the ref at center that would make the call. The ref behind the net turned to the front of the net to watch the battle infront.  If you watch it again it looks as if howard was holding the stick of the player infront maybe tryiing to draw an interference call. 

In the end...I think it was a clean play all if it was my team, I would probably be pissed too...because well thats what fans do when their home team loses haha... 

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or