Blog Entry

Will Luke Schenn hear from Shanahan for this hit?

Posted on: November 26, 2011 1:17 am
Edited on: November 26, 2011 1:17 am
 

By Brian Stubits

In the latest episode of How Many Games? our host Brendan Shanahan will have contestant Luke Schenn from the Toronto Maple Leafs. The only way he wins on this game show is if he comes away without any supplemental discipline.

That's the question Shanahan will have to determine about Schenn's hit on Friday night on Tomas Vincour of the Dallas Stars.

In the third period of the Leafs' 4-3 shootout win in Dallas, Schenn flattened Vincour, who just finished putting the puck in the offensive zone. Here is a look at the play for yourself.

To help determine the point of contact, here's a still shot of the hit. It's pretty clear that the hit is being delivered first on the head of Vincour.

For his part, Schenn said after the game that he felt the hit was clean. While it certainly was not a clean hit, I can certainly buy there was zero intent to make a bad hit. It's a situation where Vincour put himself in the position for the hit to the head.

But still, it was a bad hit regardless of intent and it did leave Vincour bloody.

What does the jury think?

More NHL Discipline News Here

For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @BrianStubitsNHL on Twitter.

Comments

Since: Sep 28, 2010
Posted on: November 26, 2011 9:45 am
 

Will Luke Schenn hear from Shanahan for this hit?

A lot of the head hits that have resulted in penalties occur on hits from the side. This hit occurs head-on and I believe that Schenn would have made contact with whatever part of the body was closest to him. Had the players head not been the most forward part of his body I believe the hit would have had much more body contact.



Since: Jul 25, 2007
Posted on: November 26, 2011 9:23 am
 

Will Luke Schenn hear from Shanahan for this hit?

Yes there will be a penalty as these are the typr of hits the NHL is trying to eliminate. It was evident he went high as his elbows are out toward the upper part of the body. Yes players need to keep tehre head up and be aware of these hits but the NHL has taken action on hits like thisIt may not have been intentional but all players need to know this is no lomger allowed. 

Same as football whether we like it or not it is the rule. The players are just going to have to adjust period 



Since: Aug 19, 2006
Posted on: November 26, 2011 3:10 am
 

Will Luke Schenn hear from Shanahan for this hit?

 No punishment, gimme a break... Players have to be aware when they are out there on the ice. He put himself in that position. It's a contact league and you can't leave yourself open like Vincour clearly did. Players have to know that if you are going for the puck you might get drilled, that's part of hockey and it's the fear that causes players to bobble the puck and make mistakes. Taking that away changes the game bigtime imo.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com