Blog Entry

Perry scores winner after missed trip in OT

Posted on: February 9, 2012 12:55 am
 
By: Adam Gretz

Seeing as how there were only three penalties called during Wednesday's Anaheim-Carolina game, a 4-3 Ducks win in overtime, it's not much of a surprise that Corey Perry tripping Jussi Jokinen behind the net, resulting in the turnover that led to the game-winning goal, was missed by referees Tim Peel and Don VanMassenhoven

Or perhaps ignored is more like it.



 It's no secret that drawing a penalty in overtime is a difficult task, especially as the NHL continues to hand out fewer power plays per game than it has in over a decade, but that is an obvious trip that needs to be called. The fact it's a play that resulted in a game-winning goal makes it even more noticeable, even if it involved two teams that aren't likely to be a major factor in the playoff race the rest of the season.

For more hockey news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnHockey and @agretz on Twitter.
Comments
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com