Play Fantasy The Most Award Winning Fantasy game with real time scoring, top expert analysis, custom settings, and more. Play Now
Blog Entry

Rule 9-6 and the Tebow hit

Posted on: September 27, 2009 12:43 pm
 
This is the text of a new NCAA rule that might come into play on the Tebow hit. Commissioners are allowed to impose penalties after the fact when none have been called during the game.


 Flagrant Personal Fouls (Rule 9-6). For 2009-10 the rules committee has added a new section that calls for conferences in the days following a game to review certain particularly dangerous plays.  This new rule says that if a player is ejected for any flagrant personal foul the conference must review the game video for possible further action.  In addition, if the officials call fouls for targeting defenseless players or using the crown of the helmet and the player is not ejected, the rules mandate a conference review.  Furthermore, if the review by the conference reveals actions that should have resulted in a personal foul but were not called, the conference may impose sanctions.
Category: NCAAF
Comments
playmaker21
Since: Sep 28, 2006
Posted on: September 28, 2009 8:58 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator




Since: Sep 12, 2006
Posted on: September 28, 2009 10:26 am
 

Rule 9-6 and the Tebow hit

This was a tough situation, made tougher by the fact that it involves the game's most talked about player.  In this instance, the hit is completely legal, as per the rule stated above.  The Kentucky DE did not target Tebow with the crown of his head, he led with his shoulder.  Tebow tucked his chin down just before contact, initiating the helmet to face mask contact.  Also, it appeared that the injuring blow came not from the Kentucky DE, but from when Tebow's head hit his lineman's knee.  It's an unfortunate situation, but completely within the rules of the game.



Since: Jul 3, 2008
Posted on: September 27, 2009 8:56 pm
 

Rule 9-6 and the Tebow hit

The only problem I have with punishing the Kentucky DE is that Tebow tucked his head at the last second.  How can anyone call helmet to helmet on that?



Since: Sep 27, 2009
Posted on: September 27, 2009 5:47 pm
 

Rule 9-6 and the Tebow hit

I am A Gator Fan! I think certain calls should be reviewed.The hit last wk in the Texas/Texas tech game should have been called outThese kids are in college NOT the NFL. I also watch religously.Thank you for allow me to be heard




Since: Aug 21, 2006
Posted on: September 27, 2009 1:50 pm
 

Rule 9-6 and the Tebow hit

Watch the replay again, it's on over and over and over...the worst part about the whole thing came from his linemans knee in the back of his helmet...that's what really gave Tebow the concussion (if it is ruled as that), it was just a horrible crunch there...are you warranting a conference ruling over his own player being in the wrong place at the wrong time? 

Dodd - you need to get out and just play any type of amateur football to realize what you speak about...another waste of DASD from you with this article.  How do you keep a job?

I won't even mention how silly you look with your other predictions. 


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com