Blog Entry

Straw poll favors Griffin (and by a wide margin)

Posted on: March 5, 2009 11:12 pm

The Fort Wayne Journal Gazette's Michael Rothstein conducted his final straw poll for National Player of the Year.

Predictably, the winner was Oklahoma's  Blake Griffin.

But would you believe it was unanimous?

Thirty-five writers from around the country -- including yours truly -- were asked to submit a ballot featuring three players, and all 35 ballots had Griffin at the top. Davidson's Stephen Curry finished second; Pitt's DeJuan Blair was third. That's exactly how my ballot looked, for those wondering. To see the full results, just click this link .

Category: NCAAB

Since: Mar 1, 2009
Posted on: March 6, 2009 12:47 am

Straw poll favors Griffin (and by a wide margin)

I think Blake Griffin deserves it, but where is the love for Ty Lawson?  It is hard to believe he was not even a top 5 consideration.  He controls the game better than Stephen Curry, yes Stephen Curry can shoot the lights out, but so could J.J. Redick, awesome, but after a while putting up 27 a game in the SoCon isn't all that impressive.  Watching Ty Lawson go from one end of the floor to the next in 2 seconds is exciting.  I love the way he runs the floor, that team would not be where they are without Lawson.  But congratulations to Blake Griffin, I heard he is staying is that true Gary?  


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or