Blog Entry

Duke trio headlines Naismith watch list

Posted on: November 16, 2010 3:03 pm
Edited on: November 16, 2010 3:03 pm
The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the Naismith preseason watch list on Tuesday.

Three of the selected players are from Duke.

The list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, of which I am a member. Click this link to view the ballot I submitted last month. The actual list of 50 players is below. It will be trimmed to 30 in late February, cut to four in March. The Naismith Award will then be presented to the nation's best men's basketball player at the Final Four. Ohio State's Evan Turner won it last season.
  1. Lavoy Allen (Temple)
  2. Kevin Anderson (Richmond)
  3. Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)
  4. Will Barton (Memphis)
  5. Talor Battle (Penn State)
  6. Keith Benson (Oakland)
  7. William Buford (Ohio State)
  8. Alec Burks (Colorado)
  9. Randy Culpepper (UTEP)
  10. Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech)
  11. Kim English (Missouri)
  12. Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)
  13. Corey Fisher (Villanova)
  14. Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
  15. Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
  16. Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh)
  17. Elias Harris (Gonzaga)
  18. Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall)
  19. Kyrie Irving (Duke)
  20. Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)
  21. JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
  22. Kevin Jones (West Virginia)
  23. Perry Jones (Baylor)
  24. Kris Joseph (Syracuse)
  25. Brandon Knight (Kentucky)
  26. Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
  27. Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
  28. Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
  29. Shelvin Mack (Butler)
  30. Demetri McCarney (Illinois)
  31. E’Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  32. Marcus Morris (Kansas)
  33. Chandler Parsons (Florida)
  34. Jacob Pullen (Kansas State)
  35. Kyle Singler (Duke)
  36. Chris Singleton (Florida State)
  37. John Shurna (Northwestern)
  38. Nolan Smith (Duke)
  39. Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
  40. Durrell Summers (Michigan State)
  41. Jeff Taylor (Vanderbilt)
  42. Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  43. Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
  44. Klay Thompson (Washington State)
  45. Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
  46. Chris Warren (Ole Miss)
  47. Derrick Williams (Arizona)
  48. Jordan Williams (Maryland)
  49. Chris Wright (Dayton
  50. Tyler Zeller (North Carolina)

Since: Sep 7, 2008
Posted on: November 16, 2010 10:23 pm

Duke trio headlines Naismith watch list

Go ahead and throw Terrance Jones on that list.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or