Blog Entry

Is the arm considered part of the ball?

Posted on: March 23, 2008 4:41 am
 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Donald Sloan is the Texas A&M player who took the last shot against UCLA.

Some people believe he was fouled on the play.

And pictures seem to back that opinion.

But I'll let you be the judge.

Click this link and look.

Discuss below.
Category: NCAAB
Comments

Since: Nov 28, 2007
Posted on: March 23, 2008 9:54 am
 

Is the arm considered part of the ball?

There is an arm on his wrist and on his elbow. That was definately a foul. Those pac 10 refs have been giving ucla favorable calls all lately aka cal and stanford. Sloan would have made the free throws because he has been clutch lately.

The refs aren't why we lost the game, although love getting away with fouling our big men was not being called. Some of his blocks were clean but some weren't and the weren't called. We blew this game by only scoring 5 points in the final 10 minutes. We would have won the game if we had scored a reasonable amount.




Since: Mar 15, 2008
Posted on: March 23, 2008 9:52 am
 

Is the arm considered part of the ball?

If that's not a foul, I don't know what a foul is. Then again, the refs were biased the whole game, letting Love stay in the game like that. He commited about ten fouls last night.




Since: Aug 19, 2006
Posted on: March 23, 2008 7:50 am
 

Is the arm considered part of the ball?

Not much to discuss, when a defender clearly slaps the shooter's arms it is a foul by definition

At least it would be a foul against 340 of the 341 Division 1 teams, when UCLA is playing they call it a "block"

Also when UCLA is playing they award points on dunks after the buzzer (not that it mattered)


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com