Tag:fantasy football
Posted on: September 8, 2011 11:19 am

MLB fantasy football league set to go

By Matt Snyder

Tuesday, CBSSports.com hosted the seventh annual fantasy football draft for Major League Baseball players. Pictured here is David Wright doing his due diligence, even in the late rounds (see the draft board on the wall behind him).

Defending champion Eric Hinske is back, and here are the 11 owners vying to remove him from the throne: Cole Hamels, Mark Reynolds, Michael Cuddyer, Brad Lidge, Adam Dunn, David Wright, Mark Buehrle, Phil Hughes, Travis Hafner, Aaron Rowand and Ben Sheets.

Hamels had the first pick and went with Vikings running back Adrian Peterson before Hinske -- a huge Packers fan -- went with Aaron Rodgers second.

View full draft results by clicking here

In a past life, I used to masquerade as a fantasy football analyst -- but it's been a while. Still, I'll give it a shot and predict Adam Dunn as the eventual champion. It would be pretty cool if that happened, as he should have some consolation for the debacle that has been his 2011 baseball season, albeit a very small consolation. I love his core of Rivers/Charles/Moreno/Holmes/Nicks and then he has the Steelers defense and potential trade bait on his bench if Peyton Manning gets healthy. If not, he still has Philip Rivers.

Go check out the teams and leave your own predictions in the comments section if you wish.

If you care to follow along, @CBSSportsPR will be giving updates all season on Twitter.

Here's some past history of the league, via CBS Sports PR:

2005 Championship Recap: Greg Maddux won the inaugural season of the MLB Players Fantasy Football League on CBSSports.com by defeating Michael Cuddyer 48-39.

2006 Championship Recap: 
Thanks to a blocked field goal by his defense, worth two points, Doug Mientkiewicz defeated Ben Sheets 79-78 in the closest championship game in the history of the MLB Players Fantasy Football League on CBSSports.com.

2007 Championship Recap: Craig Wilson defeated Matt Clement 75-40.

2008 Championship Recap: In his first year in the league, Cleveland's Travis Hafner defeated B.J. Ryan 133.5 to 83.5.

2009 Championship Recap: In a year that saw him pitch a perfect game, Chicago's Mark Buehrle added another highlight by defeating Eric Hinske 114.5 to 95 for the title.

2010 Championship Recap: A year after losing in the finals, Eric Hinske defeated Ben Sheets 116.5 to 85.5, a victory that was doubly sweet as his beloved Green Bay Packers also won the Super Bowl.

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnBaseball on Twitter or subscribe to the RSS feed.
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com