Tag:Mike Aviles
Posted on: December 7, 2010 2:26 pm
Edited on: December 7, 2010 3:04 pm
 

Mike Aviles to start at third for K.C.

The Royals already know who is starting at third base in 2011, and it's not Alex Gordon.

The starter is Mike Aviles, who returned from injury that derailed much of his 2009 year to hit .304/.335/.413 in 448 plate appearances, primarily serving as the second baseman, as Dave Brown of Yahoo! Sports reveals.

The fact Aviles will start at third is curious given Wilson Betemit's strong play at the hot corner and who re-upped with the Royals for $1 million. The club may view Betemit as a better option coming off the bench or could even slot him at second although the club apparently remains high on Chris Getz.

Of course, whoever starts at third is just holding the seat warm for top prospect Mike Moustakas, who won't have a chance to make the club out of Opening Day. That's doubly not a surprise especially given the Royals' window of contention is not for a couple of years and K.C. will need to keep an eye on holding Moustakas' service time down.

-- Evan Brunell

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsmlb on Twitter or subscribe to the RSS feed.
Category: MLB
Posted on: June 17, 2010 11:13 pm
 

Umpires correct a bad call in Kansas City


The umpiring crew in Kansas City on Thursday night made an odd ruling in the fifth inning of the Royals-Astros game.

Under Rule 9.01 (c), umpires can pretty much do what they think is right in reversing a call. That rule was invoked when second-base umpire Mike Everitt admitted he missed a call and tried to right the wrong.

With one out and Mike Aviles on second, Yuniesky Betancourt hit a liner to shortstop Geoff Blum. Everitt signaled an out and Blum stepped on second to double up Aviles, who had advanced to third, ending the inning.

Royals manager Ned Yost went out to argue the call. After the umpires conferred, crew chief Tim McClelland ruled the ball wasn't caught, but Betancourt would likely have been thrown out at first. MLB.com's Dick Kaegel wrote Royals vice president Mike Swanson consulted with McClelland who said "to correct the missed call at second base" it was assumed Blum would have gotten Betancourt at first.

Aviles was awarded third and play was resumed with two outs. Scott Podsednik then did line out to Blum to end the inning.

Rule 9.01 (c) states: "Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules.Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules."

That rule was invoked earlier this season in a Reds-Dodgers game when a ball hit by pitcher Aaron Harang with bases loaded was ruled a catch, but umpires conferred, reversed the call and gave him a hit and an RBI. McClelland, coincidentally, was the crew chief in that game as well. After that game, both Reds manager Dusty Baker and Dodgers manager Joe Torre said they'd never seen a call like that made.

-- C. Trent Rosecrans

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsmlb on Twitter.

 
 
 
 
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com