Tag:Scott Podsednik
Posted on: July 27, 2010 10:34 am
Edited on: July 27, 2010 11:32 am
 

NL West teams interested in Royals' Podsednik


Scott Podsednik Well, the Royals have to trade someone at the deadline, don't they?

With David DeJesus on the shelf and therefore off the trading block, the Royals' are taking calls on outfielder Scott Podsednik according to multiple reports, including the Kansas City Star 's Bob Dutton .

The Padres, Dodgers and Giants are all interested in Podsednik, Dutton tweets. The Royals and Giants were reportedly close to pulling off a deal for DeJesus when the Royals center fielder suffered a season-ending thumb injury last week.

The Royals won't get the haul they were expecting for DeJesus that they will for Podsednik, but they will get something. Podsednik, 34, is hitting a respectable .308/.352/.400 with five home runs, 43 RBI and 30 stolen bases for the Royals this season and is signed to a reasonable contract, $1.65 million this season and a $2 million club option for 2011 with a $100,000 buyout. However, Podsednik can void the 2011 option with 525 plate appearances this season and he already has 425.

-- C. Trent Rosecrans

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsmlb on Twitter.



Posted on: June 17, 2010 11:13 pm
 

Umpires correct a bad call in Kansas City


The umpiring crew in Kansas City on Thursday night made an odd ruling in the fifth inning of the Royals-Astros game.

Under Rule 9.01 (c), umpires can pretty much do what they think is right in reversing a call. That rule was invoked when second-base umpire Mike Everitt admitted he missed a call and tried to right the wrong.

With one out and Mike Aviles on second, Yuniesky Betancourt hit a liner to shortstop Geoff Blum. Everitt signaled an out and Blum stepped on second to double up Aviles, who had advanced to third, ending the inning.

Royals manager Ned Yost went out to argue the call. After the umpires conferred, crew chief Tim McClelland ruled the ball wasn't caught, but Betancourt would likely have been thrown out at first. MLB.com's Dick Kaegel wrote Royals vice president Mike Swanson consulted with McClelland who said "to correct the missed call at second base" it was assumed Blum would have gotten Betancourt at first.

Aviles was awarded third and play was resumed with two outs. Scott Podsednik then did line out to Blum to end the inning.

Rule 9.01 (c) states: "Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules.Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules."

That rule was invoked earlier this season in a Reds-Dodgers game when a ball hit by pitcher Aaron Harang with bases loaded was ruled a catch, but umpires conferred, reversed the call and gave him a hit and an RBI. McClelland, coincidentally, was the crew chief in that game as well. After that game, both Reds manager Dusty Baker and Dodgers manager Joe Torre said they'd never seen a call like that made.

-- C. Trent Rosecrans

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsmlb on Twitter.

 
 
 
 
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com