Tag:Coach of the Year Voting
Posted on: December 1, 2011 3:56 pm
Edited on: December 1, 2011 3:57 pm

Report: Arizona State offers job to Kevin Sumlin

Posted by Chip Patterson

After officially announcing the dismissal of head coach Dennis Erickson earlier in the week, Arizona State has reportedly decided on a candidate for the open position and made an offer.

According to the Arizona Republic, Houston head coach Kevin Sumlin has been offered Sun Devils' head coaching job. Sumlin is a top candidate for most of the open BCS coaching jobs, but he has not commented on any of the speculation during the Cougars' current 12-0 run. The Pac-12 is in the midst of a shift in the coaching landscape, with Mike Leach and Rich Rodriguez already announced as new arrivals at Washington State and Arizona, respectively.

The report does not indicate whether the offer is official, and Sumlin is likely busy preparing the Cougars for the Conference USA Championship Game on Wednesday. But if anything the report serves as an indication of where one of the hottest coaching names left on the market could be going. Sumlin's name has also been linked to UCLA, Illinois, North Carolina, and Texas A&M (should Mike Sherman be removed from his burning-hot seat).

Houston will play Southern Mississippi for the Conference USA Championship in front of a Cougar-friendly crowd in Houston. Golden Eagles head coach Larry Fedora is also one of the names circulating as a candidate for open jobs across the nation. The challenge for both staffs is to keep the focus of their team on the game, and away from the noise of coaching rumors off the field.

Do you think Kevin Sumlin deserves a vote for Coach of the Year? You can cast your fan vote for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

Keep up with the latest college football news from around the country. From the regular season all the way through the bowl games, CBSSports.com has you covered with this daily newsletter. | Preview
Posted on: November 23, 2010 3:42 pm

Coach of the Year awarded LIVE on CBSSports.com

Posted by Chip Patterson

A week ago we let you know about the ongoing fan voting for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.  This season, fans are getting to make their voice heard and help narrow down the candidates for the award, given annually to one coach from each NCAA division.  Fans have had the opportunity to vote (only once per day) for the coach of their choice at http://www.coachoftheyear.com.  Fans will be allowed to continue to vote until December 4, at which time the top fifteen coaches on the leaderboard will advance to the next round of consideration.

The presentation of the award, given last year to TCU's Gary Patterson for Division I, will be on January 10.  We have just learned that the award announcement will be able to be streamed RIGHT HERE LIVE on CBSSports.com.  So if you needed any more motivation to get out and vote for your Coach of the Year choice, there you go.  You could see him accept the trophy live, and know that you had a part in getting him up on that podium.

But first, your candidate needs to make the Top 15 by December 4 in order to advance to the next round of consideration.  Here is the current leaderboard, and you can vote for a coach by clicking here.  Don't forget to keep checking the leaderboard, and watch the announcement live here on CBSSports.com on January 10.

Posted on: November 16, 2010 3:57 pm
Edited on: November 16, 2010 4:05 pm

Calling all fans: Vote for Coach of the Year

Posted by Chip Patterson

The end of the season tends to be a time where we focus too much on hot-seats and the coaching rumor mill.  Instead of looking ahead at potential vacancies and candidates, it is refreshing to take a look back at the better coaching jobs from the 2010 season.  This year, you (the college football fans) get to start that process by participating in the selection of the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

Since September 14, fans have been voting (once per day) for their Coach of the Year pick at http://www.coachoftheyear.com.  This "Fan Voting" period is the first step in deciding the finalists for Coach of the Year.  Fans will be able to continue voting until the end of the regular season on December 4.  In this initial "Fan Voting" period, the top 15 vote getters will proceed to the next rounds of elimination and deliberation.  In order to get your favorite coach into the next round, you need to vote for (and promote) him through the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year website.  On the website, you can vote for your candidate, create promotional tools (such as banners), and view the current leaderboard.

Currently the leader is Auburn's Gene Chizik, by a healthy margin.  It is interesting that two of the top three vote-getters (Chizik and Mississippi State's Dan Mullen) are currently center-pieces in one of the potentially biggest scandals in the college football season.  But Mark Dantonio?  Oh he just has phenomenal clutch guts and a new mechanical heart that also lets him shoot lasers out of his eyes.  (Okay exaggeration, but you see where this author's vote was cast)  Where does your coach rank on the leaderboard?  Log on and let your voice be heard in the selection of the 2010 Coach of the Year.

(Leaderboard as of 11/16/2010)
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com