Tag:Gene Chizik Coach of the Year
Posted on: November 16, 2010 3:57 pm
Edited on: November 16, 2010 4:05 pm

Calling all fans: Vote for Coach of the Year

Posted by Chip Patterson

The end of the season tends to be a time where we focus too much on hot-seats and the coaching rumor mill.  Instead of looking ahead at potential vacancies and candidates, it is refreshing to take a look back at the better coaching jobs from the 2010 season.  This year, you (the college football fans) get to start that process by participating in the selection of the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

Since September 14, fans have been voting (once per day) for their Coach of the Year pick at http://www.coachoftheyear.com.  This "Fan Voting" period is the first step in deciding the finalists for Coach of the Year.  Fans will be able to continue voting until the end of the regular season on December 4.  In this initial "Fan Voting" period, the top 15 vote getters will proceed to the next rounds of elimination and deliberation.  In order to get your favorite coach into the next round, you need to vote for (and promote) him through the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year website.  On the website, you can vote for your candidate, create promotional tools (such as banners), and view the current leaderboard.

Currently the leader is Auburn's Gene Chizik, by a healthy margin.  It is interesting that two of the top three vote-getters (Chizik and Mississippi State's Dan Mullen) are currently center-pieces in one of the potentially biggest scandals in the college football season.  But Mark Dantonio?  Oh he just has phenomenal clutch guts and a new mechanical heart that also lets him shoot lasers out of his eyes.  (Okay exaggeration, but you see where this author's vote was cast)  Where does your coach rank on the leaderboard?  Log on and let your voice be heard in the selection of the 2010 Coach of the Year.

(Leaderboard as of 11/16/2010)
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com