Tag:Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year
Posted on: December 6, 2011 4:40 pm
Edited on: January 5, 2012 12:57 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Posted by Jerry Hinnen

Liberty Mutual Insurance has announced the 25 finalists for the 2011 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year. Spread across all four divisions of NCAA college football, the 25 coaches were selected via fan voting at CoachOfTheYear.com, as well as (per a National Football Foundation statement) "an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame."

"Each coach was among the top 15 in fan votes in his division to qualify for the model, which considers, among other criteria: wins, team penalties, on-field sportsmanship, academic achievement by the student-athletes, and commitment to charitable endeavors," according to the statement.

"Each of the 25 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalists is an example of what it means to be a true leader both on and off the field," said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Manning spoke to our Eye on NFL Pick-Six Podcast about the award and other topics.

Fans that visit CoachOfTheYear.com can vote daily for their favorite coach between now and Dec. 22. The four winners will be announced the morning of the BCS championship game.

The finalists are:
Football Bowl Subdivision:
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University
Brady Hoke, University of Michigan
Mark Hudspeth, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Mike London, University of Virginia
Les Miles, Louisiana State University
Bobby Petrino, University of Arkansas
Mark Richt, University of Georgia
Nick Saban, University of Alabama
Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

Football Championship Subdivision:
Rob Ambrose, Towson University (Md.)
Rob Ash, Montana State University
Tom Gilmore, College of the Holy Cross (Mass.)
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Chris Mussman, University of North Dakota

Division II:
Tim Beck, Pittsburg State University (Kan.)
Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University (Texas)
Peter Rossomando, University of New Haven (Conn.)
Scott Underwood, St. Cloud State University (Minn.)
John Wristen, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Division III:
Glenn Caruso, University of St. Thomas (Minn.)
Keith Emery, Western New England University
Steve Johnson, Bethel University (Minn.)
Lance Leipold, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Stan Zweifel, University of Dubuque (Iowa)
Each winner will receive a $50,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to the charity or charities of his choice, as well as a $20,000 scholarship grant in their name to their school's alumni association. So, seriously, college football fans: don't forget to vote.
Posted on: January 10, 2011 2:19 pm
Edited on: January 10, 2011 4:47 pm

Gene Chizik headlines Coach of the Year winners

Posted by Chip Patterson

The real hardware Gene Chizik will be looking to hold won't be awarded until later tonight, but the Auburn head coach was already honored once Monday with the announcement of the 2010 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award winners.

Chizik joined K.C. Keeler, University of Delaware, Bob Nielson, University of Minnesota Duluth, and Glen Caruso, University of St. Thomas, as recipients of the annual award given for excellence in coaching on and off the field.

Since the award's beginnings, much of the focus has been placed on the various civic and charitable responsibilities of a head coach in today's college football.  Not only is "Community Commitment" one of the categories on which nominees are graded, but also the award comes with a $50,000 donation to the winner's cause of choice, as well as $20,000 in scholarship money for the university.

The award was presented at the Royal Palms Resort and Spa, in nearby Phoenix, Hall of Fame quarterback Archie Manning was on hand to represent the College Football Hall of Fame and assist in the award presentation.  The field is initially narrowed by a running fan vote that lasted through the regular season.  More than 1,000,0000 fans participated to narrow the field to a group of finalists.  The finalists were then chosen by a vote that was made up of 20% fan votes, 25% national football media members, and 55% by members of the College Football Hall of Fame.  

Chizik, naturally, was not able to be at the award ceremony and pre-taped his acceptance.  He was with the Tigers as they are going through gameday preparations for tonight's BCS National Championship Game against Oregon at 8:30 PM in the University of Phoenix Stadium.
Posted on: November 23, 2010 3:42 pm

Coach of the Year awarded LIVE on CBSSports.com

Posted by Chip Patterson

A week ago we let you know about the ongoing fan voting for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.  This season, fans are getting to make their voice heard and help narrow down the candidates for the award, given annually to one coach from each NCAA division.  Fans have had the opportunity to vote (only once per day) for the coach of their choice at http://www.coachoftheyear.com.  Fans will be allowed to continue to vote until December 4, at which time the top fifteen coaches on the leaderboard will advance to the next round of consideration.

The presentation of the award, given last year to TCU's Gary Patterson for Division I, will be on January 10.  We have just learned that the award announcement will be able to be streamed RIGHT HERE LIVE on CBSSports.com.  So if you needed any more motivation to get out and vote for your Coach of the Year choice, there you go.  You could see him accept the trophy live, and know that you had a part in getting him up on that podium.

But first, your candidate needs to make the Top 15 by December 4 in order to advance to the next round of consideration.  Here is the current leaderboard, and you can vote for a coach by clicking here.  Don't forget to keep checking the leaderboard, and watch the announcement live here on CBSSports.com on January 10.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com