Tag:Officiating
Posted on: February 18, 2012 3:06 pm
Edited on: February 18, 2012 10:19 pm
 

Karl Hess ejects Tom Gugliotta



UPDATE, 10:18 p.m.: ACC supervisor of officials, John Clougherty, released a statement:
 
"Under Rule 10, when circumstances warrant, an official has the authority to request home game management to eject fans when the behavior, in the officials' judgement, is extreme or excessive. It's unfortunate in this instance that ACC protocol of communicating directly with the home game management was not followed, and instead, a building security officer was solicited. We will re-communicate this policy with all officials to ensure proper protocol is followed."

By Jeff Goodman

It's time for Karl Hess to go. 

The veteran referee tossed former N.C. State stars Tom Gugliotta and Chris Corchiani with about six minutes left in the 76-62 loss to Florida State on Saturday afternoon. 

"There were seven or eight different calls we were contesting," Corchiani told CBSSports.com. "We were yelling, but we didn't even yell a profanity or even threaten him." 

Hess, who has already worked 74 games this season, declined to comment when approached after the game by an Associated Press reporter. Corchiani said he was with his wife and 11-year-old daughter while Gugliotta and his 14-year-old daughter were sitting next to them in the front row. 

"We're not denying we were all over him, but I've been doing that every game I've been at since I retired," said Corchiani, who said he attends just about every N.C. State game. "That's homecourt advantage. But again, we never used profanity or crossed the line. We were just on him about some of the calls he made." 

Corchiani said that Hess had to game stopped earlier and tried to have another fan ejected. Then after the 6-foot-10 Gugliotta stood out and yelled something at Hess from just a handful of feet away, Hess went to a police officer and had both former N.C. State stars escorted out of the building.  

"It was wild," Corchiani said. 

EARLIER, FROM MATT NORLANDER

I'm not one to complain about bad calls.

I am one to post hilarious videos of puffy-chested officials throwing out local legends at basketball games. That's what Karl Hess did Saturday afternoon when he gave beloved N.C. State alums Tom Gugliotta (Googs!) and Chris Corchiani the hook.

NFL senior blogger Will Brinson -- an absolutely insufferable Wolfpack alum and homer -- was ready and waiting for this. A hat tip to him for promptly getting us the video. As for Hess, unless what Googs and Corchiani were saying was highly offensive, this is pretty bad. Just another zebra with an ego trip and a penchant for the spotlight. It's getting old, nearly as old as him.

UPDATE: Corchiani tweeted that he didn't use profanity, and even the Florida State assistant AD admitted he didn't believe the two should've been thrown out.

Posted on: December 31, 2011 1:55 pm
Edited on: December 31, 2011 2:02 pm
 

Will refs be punished again for botched call?

By Matt Norlander



That's how Wagner defeated Santa Clara Friday night in the nation's oldest regular-season tournament, Santa Clara's Cable Car Classic. There is no dispute: the Seahawks' basket should not have counted.

First of all, before the game-winning shot is launched by Kenny Ortiz, the ball appears to land on the out-of-bounds line. The angle's not great, so it can be disputed, and if you'd like to do that, I won't fight you. But after that no-call, the circus shot -- fun as it is to watch -- should not count. From fifth-grade officiating on up, every stripe should and does know that if the ball falls through the hoop but has to take the roundabout way of travelling from behind the backboard to get there: no points.

If I'm breaking out rules, articles and sections, you know it's serious. Nonetheless, here it is, straight from the official rulebook. Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2, in all its succinct glory:
"The ball shall be out of bounds when any part of the ball passes over the backboard from any direction."
Go ahead and watch it again. Yep, Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2 is most definitely violated. Doesn't much matter, as Santa Clara is now
8-5 and Wagner's stellar season improves to 10-3. It was a 64-62 final; overtime should have been held.

Going forward, the question is, will the West Coast Conference punish its officials for costing a team a game for neglecting a fairly obvious rule?

It's happened before at the Cable Car Classic. Three years ago, in fact, and it was over a rule much less well-known. In 2008, coach Kerry Keating and Santa Clara were on the good end of a botched outcome. The Broncos defeated UTEP after John Bryant hit a game-winning shot. Only Bryant was subbed in after an inadvertent stoppage of time by the officials. With less than a minute remaining, such a substitution isn't allowed.

Bryant, of all people, had to be the one to give Santa Clara the W. UTEP didn't protest -- because it didn't know the rule either. The league reviewed it a few days later, and sure enough, that officiating crew was suspended for one game.

WCC director of officials Dave Libbey was at Friday night's Wagner-Santa Clara game. He knows what happened and he knows it was wrong. The league has yet to offer a retraction or apology. That should come soon, Monday at the latest. And if the league's going to be consistent with disciplining erroneous calls, the three officials from Friday night's game -- Mark Cook, Michael Rapp and Tony Padilla -- deserve to sit a game as well.

The Broncos move on with their season, looking ahead to conference play, but they're still owed a public apology for having a win against a good team ripped from away from them due to an egregious stripes oversight.
 
 
 
 
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com