Nashville Predators forward Patric Hornqvist received a $2,000 fine, the maximum allowable under the collective bargaining agreement, for the elbow he landed to the head of Boston Bruins forward Tyler Seguin on Thursday night.
An official with the Predators confirmed the fine to CBSSports.com on Friday, which means Hornqvist won’t be suspended like two other players this week for hits to the head. Hornqvist received a five-minute major for elblowing and a game misconduct.
Seguin required seven stitches to close the gash to his ear lobe.
The suspension vs. fine delineation may have come down to whether Hornqvist actually used his elbow, which longtime Predators coach Barry Trotz said isn’t so clear on the replays.
"The referee said, 'I saw his elbow out and make contact with the head,'” Trotz told The Tennessean. "When I watched the replay, Hornqvist had his elbow out, and then as he goes into Seguin he brings his elbow in and actually puts the brakes on and sort of turns. When I looked at it, I really didn't think it was a penalty.""
Here’s the video of the hit, which takes place about 45 seconds into the clip:
-- A.J. Perez