Posted on: November 18, 2011 3:32 pm
Edited on: November 18, 2011 3:35 pm

Another Oklahoma State tragedy

Not again.

That was the first thing I thought of when I heard the news: not again.

On Thursday night, Oklahoma State women’s basketball coach Kurt Budke and assistant Miranda Serna were among four passengers killed in a single-engine plane accident in Arkansas.

The tragic deaths of Budke and Serna brought back memories of another tragedy involving Oklahoma State's men's basketball team, that took the lives of 10 individuals about 10 years and 10 months ago when their plane crashed in Colorado.

In an interview with the Tulsa World today, former Oklahoma State point guard Doug Gottlieb summed up exactly what Cowboys everywhere are thinking today.

“It doesn’t seem fair or real or possible that, 10 months removed from the 10-year anniversary in which we celebrated the lives of the 10 that were lost that here we are again,” Gottlieb told the World.

“It doesn’t seem right that it would happen to anyone, let alone the same university. But it has and, in times of tragedy, I think Oklahomans show great respect for one another. I have spoken with people from the University of Oklahoma as well as Oklahoma State and many of my teammates and my coaches, the Sutton family.

“We are all just stunned and saddened and shocked. That was a plane crash (in 2001) that rocked the university to its core and this one will do no less.

“At a time in which the football program has never seen this type of success and is within two games of playing for a national championship, all that pales in comparison to losing other Cowboys and losing other people that are part of the family.”

Like Gottlieb, I'm an Oklahoma State graduate. We hurt today.

Last year I was fortunate enough to be in Stillwater the night the Cowboys honored “The Ten” on the 10th anniversary of the crash before their game with Texas and wrote about “The Ten” and their impact on Oklahoma State.

The names of “The Ten:” Kendall Durfey, 38, was a radio engineer for the Cowboy Network. Bjorn Fahlstrom, 30, sat in the co-pilot's seat. Nate Fleming, 20, was a freshman guard. Will Hancock, 31, was the media relations coordinator. Daniel Lawson, 21, was a junior guard. Brian Luinstra, 29, was a trainer. Denver Mills, 55, was the pilot. Pat Noyes, 27, was the director of basketball operations. Bill Teegins, 48, was the play-by-play voice of the Cowboys. Jared Weiberg, 22, was a student manager

Never forget them. Never forget Kurt Budke and Miranda Serna either.

Category: NCAAB
Posted on: June 20, 2011 1:13 pm
Edited on: June 20, 2011 1:34 pm

Big East received more $ from hoops than BCS

In case you need more evidence that basketball is truly king in the Big East, here’s another example. The league received more money in 2011 in NCAA tournament revenue ($24.9 million) than it did in BCS football revenue ($21.2 million).

The Big East’s $24.9 million received from the NCAA was about $6 million more than the Big 12, the next closest conference. The NCAA basketball revenue is based on number of “tournament units.” For each round a league team advances it receives another unit. Each unit is worth about $240,000.

Even though the Big East earned the most revenue, the Big Ten had the highest per-team average at $1.67 million, followed by the Pac-10 ($1.6 million), Big 12 ($1.575 million), Big East ($1.55 million), ACC ($1.51 million) and SEC ($1.29 million).

Here’s the breakdown of the 2011 distribution of NCAA basketball revenue by conference

1. Big East $24.9 million
2. Big 12 $18.9 million
3. Big Ten $18.4 million
4. ACC $18.2 million
5. Pac-10 $16 million

6. SEC $15.5 million
7. Conference USA $6.9 million
8. Missouri Valley $5 million
(tie). Mountain West $5 million
10. Atlantic 10 $5.7 million

11. Horizon $4.5 million
(tie). West Coast $4.5 million
13. Colonial $3.3 million
14. WAC $2.8 million
15. Sun Belt $2.3 million
16. Southern $2.1 million

17. Big West $1.9 million
(tie). Ivy $1.9 million
(tie). Metro $1.9 million
(tie). Ohio Valley $1.9 million
(tie). Patriot $1.9

22. America East $1.6 million
(tie). Big Sky $1.6 million
(tie). Big South $1.6 million
(tie). MAC $1.6 million
(tie). Northeast $1.6 million
(tie). Southland $1.6 million
(tie). SWAC $1.6 million

29. Atlantic Sun $1.4 million
(tie). MEAC $1.4 million
(tie). Summit $1.4 million

Posted on: May 24, 2011 3:53 pm

Big East coaches recommend for 17-team tournament

PONTE VERDA BEACH, Fla. – The Big East Conference men's basketball coaches voted Tuesday to allow all 17 teams to compete in the league’s tournament starting in 2012. 

The coaches’ recommendations at the league’s spring meetings still must be approved by the athletic directors and then voted on by the league’s presidents before becoming official.

With TCU joining the league for the 2012-13 school year, the basketball membership will grow from 16 to 17 teams. There was some thought that the league might opt to only allow the top 12 teams to play in Madison Square Garden for the Big East tournament. That’s how the tournament was restructured from 2006-08 until the league allowed all 16 teams to advance to New York beginning with the 2009 tournament.

UConn coach Jim Calhoun said if he was the Big East's commissioner he would want a 12-team tournament, but as a coach he preferred all 17 teams playing in the tournament.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or