Posted on: December 4, 2008 3:49 pm

AFCA All-America Team

The AFCA announced its Coaches' All-America Team today and boy was the SEC rewarded.

Nine players made the team from the SEC, including four from Alabama. Offensive lineman Andre Smith, center Antoine Caldwell, defensive tackle Terrence Cody and defensive back Rashad Johnson. Florida had two -- linebacker Brandon Spikes and all-purpose player Percy Harvin.

The Big 12 had six players on the team, headlined by Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell, wide receiver Michael Crabtree and offensive lineman Brandon Carter.

I was really surprised TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes didn't make the team. He leads the nation with 14 sacks and six forced fumbles and is a finalist for the Hendricks and Nagurski Award. I know he doesn't play for a major BCS school, but not like TCU is some team that nobody knows about either.

Defensive back is one of the deepest positions this year, but glad to see Wake Forest's Alphonso Smith make it. Even though the Demon Deacons had a rough season, he makes plays every game.

Stay tuned for the CBSSports.com All-America Team, which will come out next week.


Category: NCAAF
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com