Posted on: September 22, 2010 9:39 am
Edited on: September 22, 2010 12:16 pm

Vince Young wins the 2005 Heisman!

Since the Heisman folks won't re-vote, we did. Vince Young is the "new" winner of the 2005 Heisman.

Our college football crew went back five years (using the Hot Tub Time Machine) and reconsidered the candidates in light of Reggie Bush forfeiting his Heisman. There was no directive. Three of the six voters considered Bush. Typical of those was CBSSports.com college football production editor J. Darin Darst.

"In my opinion, Reggie Bush was the best player in the nation that year," Darst said.  "You can't tell me that amazing season didn't happen. It did, I remember it. I understand why Bush gave the Heisman back, but he never should have been pressured to return the award. I will always remember that Bush won the Heisman in 2005."

 We thought about inviting Young to Ft. Lauderdale for the award ceremony but the Heisman folks wouldn't part with the trophy. Besides, it still has Bush's name on it.

The numbers:
1. Vince Young, Texas, 26 points -- 4 first place votes
2. Reggie Bush, USC, 18 (2)
3. Matt Leinart, USC, 10
4. Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, 4
5. DeAngelo Williams, Memphis, 2
6. A.J. Hawk, Ohio State, 1

Based on top 3 -- 5-3-1 voting.

Voters: Dennis Dodd, national columnist; Darin Darst, college football production editor; Jason Horowitz, on-air talent; Adam Aizer, podcast talent; Tom Fornelli, blogger; Brian Stubits, editor.

Posted on: September 15, 2010 3:51 pm
Edited on: September 16, 2010 6:55 pm

2005 will remain Heismanless

There will be dark, deep hole where Reggie Bush's name used to be on the list of Heisman winners.

The head of the Heisman Trust just announced that there will be no winner for 2005 after Bush forfeited his trophy on Tuesday. William Dockery said it would be too hard to "recreate the vote" the ended with Bush winning over Vince Young and Matt Leinart.

Young will have to be happy with a national championship. He's a lot happier than Bush who has a bunch of holes in resume, and his character. Heritage Hall has been cleared of any mention of him at USC. He has forfeited his own trophy. Up next, the BCS which has promised to vacate USC's 2004 title if the school loses its NCAA appeal.

This latest move allows the Heisman to retain much of its dignity. There is no precedent set -- by the Heisman. It took no official action on Bush. In fact, Dockery said the Trust was not leaning either way on whether to strip Bush of his trophy.

This reminds us more than ever that the Heisman winner "must be in compliance with the bylaws defining an NCAA student-athlete."

I feel sorry for this year's Heisman winner, who is going to get a endoscopy from the media. Attention: Terrelle Pryor, Denard Robinson, Kellen Moore, etc. No $100 handshakes. In fact, no 25-cent handshakes.
Category: NCAAF
Tags: Heisman, USC
Posted on: December 4, 2009 9:17 am

Gerhart wins readers' Heisman

Our armchair voters have spoken.
If it were up to our readers Stanford’s Toby Gerhart would get the Heisman. That’s the surprising result of the responses I got this week from approximately 150 readers.
I posted a request on my blog earlier this week asking readers for their five candidates.  What prompted me was perhaps the closest Heisman race in history looming with one big weekend left. Gerhart was the somewhat surprising winner, beating out Texas’ Colt McCoy. Alabama’s Mark Ingram was a distant third.
Gerhart will not be part of this weekend’s flourish to the finish. Stanford completed its regular season at 8-4 after a victory over Notre Dame. He finished with a flourish running for 205 yards and scoring four touchdowns (including one passing). Toby for Heisman seems to have captured the nation’s attention after the senior rushed for 1,736 yards and 26 touchdowns.
The tailback received 446 points and appeared on 116 ballots. He got first-place votes on 37 of those ballots. Gerhart has been a fast riser on other Heisman polls but is assumed to be at a disadvantage because his season is completed. The country may have fallen in love late.

He will still have to survive final statements from Tim Tebow, McCoy and Ingram in the SEC and Big 12 championship games.

Surprises: Tebow finished a distant fourth with only seven first-place votes … Houston quarterback Case Keenum was fifth … Nebraska defensive tackle finished seventh with more first-place votes (13) than Ingram or Tebow.
Thirty-four players received votes. Nine received first-place votes.
The top 10:
1. Toby Gerhart, Stanford, 446 points (37 first-place votes)
2. Colt McCoy, Texas, 398 (32)
3. Mark Ingram, Alabama, 194 (4)
4. Tim Tebow, Florida, 170 (7)
5. Case Keenum, Houston, 128 (7)
6. Kellen Moore, Boise State, 119 (4)
7. Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, 113 (13)
8. C.J. Spiller, Clemson, 90 (8)
9. Golden Tate, Notre Dame, 22 (1)
10. Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan, 13


Posted on: December 2, 2009 10:13 am

Your Heisman vote

You've seen my current top five in the Heisman race:

1. Colt McCoy
2. Toby Gerhart
3. Tim Tebow
4. Kellen Moore
5. Danario Alexander

Now tell me yours. Hopefully, we'll get enough respondents and publish our own Heisman poll on Friday. Fire away.
Category: NCAAF
Tags: Heisman
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com