Tag:James Harden
Posted on: March 12, 2009 2:15 pm
Edited on: March 12, 2009 2:18 pm

It's been a long time since ASU won one of these

The most interesting game today is Arizona-Arizona State.


Because a win by the Sun Devils could be what snaps Arizona's streak of 24 consecutive NCAA tournament appearances, and what would be better than snapping a rival's streak? On the other hand, can Arizona State really beat Arizona in the Pac-10 tournament?

Or anybody in the Pac-10 tournament?

That's obviously a silly question.

But considering the Sun Devils haven't won a Pac-10 tournament game since 1990, perhaps it's not. Seriously, ASU has dropped six consecutive Pac-10 tournament games. Combine that with the fact that it did not qualify for the tournament in 2004, and that the league didn't hold a tournament from 1991 to 2001, and it is true that the Sun Devils are looking for their first Pac-10 tournament win since they beat Gary Payton's Oregon State Beavers in 1990.

Of course, James Harden didn't arrive at ASU until the 2008 Pac-10 tournament.

And Jeff Pendergraph wasn't involved in anything before the 2006 Pac-10 tournament.

Those two people will likely be the key to Arizona State breaking this streak if Arizona State does break this streak, and would you believe it if I told you Pendergraph could be more crucial than Harden? Consider: In ASU's past four games against Arizona (all of which were wins, by the way), Pendergraph is 24-of-38 (.632) from the floor and 22-of-26 (.846) from the free throw line. He is averaging 17.5 points and 10.0 rebounds. Meanwhile, Arizona's Jordan Hill -- a projected top five pick in June's NBA Draft -- is 21-of-51 (.411) from the floor and 12-of-18 (.667) from the free throw line in those four games. He's averaging 13.5 points and 10.3 boards.

Advantage: Pendergraph.


Yes ... at least statistically over their past four match-ups.

So that's a good sign for Arizona State, I think. But if Pendergraph -- who had 27 points and 10 boards in last weekend's win over California -- doesn't dominate Hill, there's always this (from the blog of the Arizona Republic's Doug Haller): ASU is 5-0 in games that have started before 1 p.m. local time.

Today's tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m. ET.

In Los Angeles, that's noon.

For ASU, that's good.

Posted on: February 10, 2009 5:54 pm

My top three for National Player of the Year

The request came from Michael Rothstein of the Fort Wayne Journal Gazette.

It was simple.

Rank the top three National Player of the Year candidates

Turns out, Michael is conducting a straw poll with various media members, one he plans to do every couple of weeks for the rest of the season. He'll publish the poll the day after we submit ballots, which means he should have it all put together by tomorrow, and I'll be sure to relay the results. In the meantime, I figured I'd give you the three names I submitted, then list a few other players who deserve a mention.

So here goes ...

1. Blake Griffin (Oklahoma)

2. Stephen Curry (Davidson)

3. James Harden (Arizona State)

A few other players who deserve a mention (in alphabetical order): Jeff Adrien (Connecticut), DeJuan Blair (Pittsburgh), Trevor Booker (Clemson), Jon Brockman (Washington), Derrick Brown (Xavier), Nick Calathes (Florida), DeMarre Carroll (Missouri), Sherron Collins (Kansas), Darren Collison (UCLA), Dante Cunningham (Villanova), Toney Douglas (Florida State), Devan Downey (South Carolina), Tyreke Evans (Memphis), Jonny Flynn (Syracuse), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Luke Harangody (Notre Dame), Manny Harris (Michigan), Gerald Henderson (Duke), Jordan Hill (Arizona), Matt Howard (Butler), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Kalin Lucas (Michigan State), Eric Maynor (VCU), Jerel McNeal (Marquette), Jodie Meeks (Kentucky), Greg Monroe (Georgetown), Kyle Singler (Duke), Tyler Smith (Tennessee), Jeff Teague (Wake Forest), Hasheem Thabeet (Connecticut),  Evan Turner (Ohio State), Terrence Williams (Louisville), Sam Young (Pittsburgh).


Posted on: February 6, 2009 4:31 pm

Arizona State stringing rare road wins

One team I did not mention in the Friday Look Ahead is Arizona State, but there are a couple of interesting notes about the Sun Devils as they head into Saturday's game at Oregon State.

First, James Harden is coming off a 36-point effort.

That's strong.

And then there's this: ASU has now won three consecutive Pac-10 road games -- at UCLA, at Arizona and at Oregon -- for just the third time in the past 27 years. The last time was 1995-96, way back when Harden was a little kid. Or when I was a freshmen in college.

Category: NCAAB
Posted on: November 3, 2008 1:01 pm

That All-American team looks familiar

The AP All-American team looks exactly like the CBSSports.com All-American team.

But that doesn't mean there shouldn't be some debate.

The reality is that when I put together my team the only must-have-players were Tyler Hansbrough, Stephen Curry and Luke Harangody. I can't understand why any ballot wouldn't include those three names, but I can't understand a lot of what happens on AP ballots. So whatever. As for Blake Griffin and Darren Collison, yes, I also featured both. But I considered teams without those names and actually almost went one of the following:

G: Darren Collison (UCLA)
G: Stephen Curry (Davidson)
G: James Harden (Arizona State)
F: Luke Harangody (Notre Dame)
F: Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina)

Or ...

G: Stephen Curry (Davidson)
G: James Harden (Arizona State)
F: Tyler Smith (Tennessee)
F: Luke Harangody (Notre Dame)
F: Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina)

To be clear, I love Griffin and Collison. But Collison's dreadful Final Four appearance is something I nearly couldn't get out of my head, and though Griffin was dominant as a freshman his numbers weren't quite as good as Hansbrough's or Harangody's. So that's why I considered dropping one or both for Harden and/or Smith. But in the end, I think I got it right. And I think the AP voters got it right, too.

So good for me.

And good for them.

And we'll just have to argue some other day.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com