Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
Tag:Naismith Award
Posted on: January 28, 2011 1:50 pm

My Naismith Award ballot

I had to submit a list of 30 candidates for the Naismith Award to the Atlanta Tipoff Club this afternoon.

Here are my nominations:
  • Marcus Denmon (Missouri)
  • Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)
  • Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
  • Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
  • Jordan Hamilton (Texas)
  • Ben Hansbrough (Notre Dame)
  • Tu Holloway (Xavier)
  • Rick Jackson (Syracuse)
  • Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)
  • John Jenkins (Vanderbilt)
  • JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
  • Terrence Jones (Kentucky)
  • Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
  • Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
  • Trevor Mbakwe (Minnesota)
  • Demetri McCamey (Illinois)
  • Mickey McConell (Saint Mary’s)
  • E’Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  • Marcus Morris (Kansas)
  • Kyle Singler (Duke)
  • Chris Singleton (Florida State)
  • Nolan Smith (Duke)
  • Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
  • Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  • Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
  • Klay Thompson (Washington State)
  • Kemba Walker (UConn)
  • Brad Wanamaker (Pittsburgh)
  • Derrick Williams (Arizona)
  • Jordan Williams (Maryland)
Category: NCAAB
Posted on: November 16, 2010 3:03 pm
Edited on: November 16, 2010 3:03 pm

Duke trio headlines Naismith watch list

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the Naismith preseason watch list on Tuesday.

Three of the selected players are from Duke.

The list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, of which I am a member. Click this link to view the ballot I submitted last month. The actual list of 50 players is below. It will be trimmed to 30 in late February, cut to four in March. The Naismith Award will then be presented to the nation's best men's basketball player at the Final Four. Ohio State's Evan Turner won it last season.
  1. Lavoy Allen (Temple)
  2. Kevin Anderson (Richmond)
  3. Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)
  4. Will Barton (Memphis)
  5. Talor Battle (Penn State)
  6. Keith Benson (Oakland)
  7. William Buford (Ohio State)
  8. Alec Burks (Colorado)
  9. Randy Culpepper (UTEP)
  10. Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech)
  11. Kim English (Missouri)
  12. Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)
  13. Corey Fisher (Villanova)
  14. Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
  15. Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
  16. Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh)
  17. Elias Harris (Gonzaga)
  18. Jeremy Hazell (Seton Hall)
  19. Kyrie Irving (Duke)
  20. Charles Jenkins (Hofstra)
  21. JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
  22. Kevin Jones (West Virginia)
  23. Perry Jones (Baylor)
  24. Kris Joseph (Syracuse)
  25. Brandon Knight (Kentucky)
  26. Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
  27. Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
  28. Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
  29. Shelvin Mack (Butler)
  30. Demetri McCarney (Illinois)
  31. E’Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  32. Marcus Morris (Kansas)
  33. Chandler Parsons (Florida)
  34. Jacob Pullen (Kansas State)
  35. Kyle Singler (Duke)
  36. Chris Singleton (Florida State)
  37. John Shurna (Northwestern)
  38. Nolan Smith (Duke)
  39. Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
  40. Durrell Summers (Michigan State)
  41. Jeff Taylor (Vanderbilt)
  42. Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  43. Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
  44. Klay Thompson (Washington State)
  45. Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
  46. Chris Warren (Ole Miss)
  47. Derrick Williams (Arizona)
  48. Jordan Williams (Maryland)
  49. Chris Wright (Dayton
  50. Tyler Zeller (North Carolina)
Posted on: October 12, 2010 2:27 pm
Edited on: October 17, 2010 7:02 pm

50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award

I just filed my list of 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Award.

Here's what I submitted:

(Note: My ballot did not include Baylor's LaceDarius Dunn, Kansas' Josh Selby or Kentucky's Enes Kanter because it remains unclear whether those three players will compete this season. Without eligibility issues, they'd all be included.)
  • Lavoy Allen (Temple)
  • Kevin Anderson (Richmond)
  • Harrison Barnes (North Carolina)
  • Will Barton (Memphis)
  • Talor Battle (Penn State)
  • Keith Benson (Oakland)
  • William Buford (Ohio State)
  • Alec Burks (Colorado)
  • Randy Culpepper (UTEP)
  • Malcolm Delaney (Virginia Tech)
  • Kim English (Missouri)
  • Kenneth Faried (Morehead State)
  • Corey Fisher (Villanova)
  • Jimmer Fredette (BYU)
  • Austin Freeman (Georgetown)
  • Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh)
  • Elias Harris (Gonzaga)
  • John Henson (North Carolina)
  • Scotty Hopson (Tennessee)
  • Robbie Hummel (Purdue)
  • JaJuan Johnson (Purdue)
  • Kevin Jones (West Virginia)
  • Perry Jones (Baylor)
  • Kris Joseph (Syracuse)
  • Brandon Knight (Kentucky)
  • Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State)
  • Jon Leuer (Wisconsin)
  • Kalin Lucas (Michigan State)
  • Shelvin Mack (Butler)
  • Demetri McCamey (Illinois)
  • E'Twaun Moore (Purdue)
  • Marcus Morris (Kansas)
  • Chandler Parsons (Florida)
  • Jacob Pullen (Kansas State)
  • John Shurna (Northwestern)
  • Kyle Singler (Duke)
  • Chris Singleton (Florida State)
  • Nolan Smith (Duke)
  • Jared Sullinger (Ohio State)
  • Durrell Summers (Michigan State)
  • Jeff Taylor (Vanderbilt)
  • Isaiah Thomas (Washington)
  • Trey Thompkins (Georgia)
  • Klay Thompson (Washington State)
  • Kemba Walker (Connecticut)
  • Chris Warren (Ole Miss)
  • Derrick Williams (Arizona)
  • Jordan Williams (Maryland)
  • Chris Wright (Dayton)
  • Tyler Zeller (North Carolina)
Category: NCAAB
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or