Still, with the extra two umpires on the field, the crew managed to botch this call (thanks to Cork Gaines for the GIF).
Yes, that was ruled a catch. I'm not kidding.
Not only that, it may have cost the Rays a big inning. With runners on first and second, Delmon Young sent that liner to center. Wil Myers surely would have scored from second and the Rays would have then had runners on first and third for David DeJesus -- who collected an RBI double earlier in the game. The lead would have been increased to 5-2.
Instead, the score remained 4-2 Rays heading to the bottom of the seventh.
The Rays went on to win the game 5-2.