It took all of one inning for the 2013 World Series to provide some mini-controversy. With men on first and second and one out in the bottom of the first inning, David Ortiz hit a weak grounder to second base that looked like a potential double play ball. Matt Carpenter flipped to Pete Kozma for the first out ... then this happened:
Second base umpire Dana Demuth called Dustin Pedroia out at second base, saying Kozma bobbled the transfer. Obviously that was not the case. Kozma just flat out missed the ball.
It looked like the Cardinals got a big break, but the umpiring crew got together and talked the play over after an argument by Red Sox manager John Farrell. After a minute or two, the call was overturned and Pedroia was awarded second base. Everyone was safe, as they should have been. It took a few minutes, but bravo for the umpires getting the call right.
Minutes later, Mike Napoli drove a 2-0 pitch into the gap for a bases-clearing double, which gave Boston an early 3-0 lead in Game 1. And nobody was happier than David Ortiz.